National TeamsRugby

Rugby: Uganda Among 19 Teams Invited For Safari 7s In Kenya

DUBAI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES - DECEMBER 02: Michael Okorach of Uganda is tackled by Rosko Specman of South Africa during day two of the Emirates Dubai Rugby Sevens - HSBC Sevens World Series match between South Africa and Uganda on December 2, 2016 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. (Photo by Tom Dulat/Getty Images)

Uganda’s senior men Rugby sevens team is among the 19 teams that have been invited for this year’s Safaris Sevens.

The Safari Sevens is an annual rugby sevens tournament in Kenya. The Safari Sevens is open to international representative sides, professional and amateur clubs, invitational teams, university and school teams.

The 23rd edition of the famous tourney will be played on October 18-20 at RFUEA grounds in Kenyan capital, Nairobi.

Philip Wokorach of Uganda (L) tackles Murphy Paulo of Samoa on the try line during the men’s round of 16 games at the Rugby Sevens World Cup in the AT&T Park at San Francisco, California on July 20, 2018. (Photo by Mark RALSTON / AFP) (Photo credit should read MARK RALSTON/AFP/Getty Images)

British side Samurai are the defending champions after beating Kenya Shujaa 21-14 last year.

If Uganda confirms participation, they will use the tourney as a platform to prepare for the African Sevens.

The invited teams:
Uganda, Samurai, France, England, Canada, Japan, Botswana, USA, South Africa, Portugal, Spain, Nigeria, Red Wailers, Ghana, Apache, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Hong Kong and Russia.

Past Winners Since 2010
2010 – Kenya
2011 – Samoa
2012 – South Africa Elite Player Development
2013 – Shujaa
2014 – Welsh Warriors (Wales)
2015 – Samurai
2016 – Shujaa
2017 – (Not held)
2018 – Samurai

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: