CAF Champions League: KCCA FC Overcome African Stars To Reach First Round

Friday, August 23
*KCCA FC 2-0 African Stars
(KCCA win 4-3 on aggregate)

KCCA FC managed to skip African Stars hurdle with two late goals to reach the first round of the CAF Champions league qualifiers.

Coming into the game, the ‘garbage collectors’ needed nothing but victory to go through.

After some missed chances, the hosts got frustrated as time ticked with fans visibly restless.

Mustafa Kiiza

Mustafa Kiiza scored a freekick in the 80th minute before Allan Okello doubled the advantage in the 88th minute strike to send the fans into frenzy celebrations.

KCCA FC who had lost 2-3 in the first leg, top the tie 4-3 on aggregate.

KCCA FC will now face winner between Matlama and Petro de Luanda at the next round with a ticket to lucrative group stages at stake.

The visitors had the first chance on goal but Deon Tjizumaje after beating Charles Lukwago in goal had his shot blocked by Peter Magambo.

The Stars had some other good chances – Ambrosius Amseb had his loop go over the bar, Chrispen Mbewe headed out from point blank range while Kaejarukapo Katjimune was denied by Charles Lukwago in a one on one situation.

Mutebi’s team on the other hand, fired blanks as they lacked a formidable figure in front and the midfield struggled to penetrate through Stars’ defence.

Sadat Anaku had two volleys denied by goalkeeper, he also had his shot blocked for a corner after being put through by Mike Mutyaba.

Mustafa fired his freekick over the bar while Muzamir Mutyaba had his penalty appeal denied.

Mike Mutebi brought on Jackson Nunda and Nicholas Kasozi for Herbert Achai and Gift Ali respectively but they needed Mustafa and Okello’s brilliance to overcome the Namibian outfits.

Teams used
Charles Lukwago (GK), Samuel Kato, Musa Ramathan, Gift Abubakar, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Mustafa Kizza, Peter Magambo, Sadat Anaku, Herbert Achai, Mike Mutyaba, Allan Okello

African Stars
Ratanda Mbazuvara(GK), Dennis Ngueza Tjet jinda, Pat-Nevin Uanivi(C), Youssouf Ibrohim,Himeekula Ronald Ketjijere, Ambrosius Amseb, Marcello Papama, Deon Tjizumaue, Chrispen Mbewe, Treasure Kaupirura, Ivan kamberipa

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: