Roke 7s: Betway Kobs Crowned Champions

Betway Kobs clinched the 2019 Roke Telkom National Rugby 7s title on Saturday at Legends club in Lugogo, Kampala.

Despite losing the last circuit to rivals Pirates 05-24, Kobs had already accumulated enough points to finish on top of the log.

Coming into the Edward Kitaka Memorial Sevens on Saturday, hosted by themselves, Kobs needed just 16 points (finish just inside the top three) to claim the overall championship.

Kobs beat Mongers 36-00 and Impis 31-07 in the quarter and semifinal respectively to storm the finals.

Tries from Timothy Odong, Mohamed Haruna and William Mucunguzi gave Pirates the win at Legends, while Conrad Mukwaya put the only points on board for the Champions.

The sevens, a two horse race, has seen Kobs and Pirates play each other in all the seven finals in the circuits played.

Kobs have won four – Buffaloes, Bweyogerere, Mileke and Jinja. Pirates have won three circuits – Buddu, Coronation and Edward Kitaka sevens.

Kobs finish on top with 154 points and take home Sh1.6M as prize money.

This, is Kobs’ fourth national 7s title in five years. They had won three straight before Pirates won it last year.

Pirates won it last year with 153 points against Kobs’ 139 who were runners up.

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: