University Football: Repeat Of 2015, 2017 Finals As MUBS Draw UMU In Quarters

Makerere University Business School (MUBS) have been drawn against top rivals Uganda Martyrs in the 2019 University Football league quarter finals.

The draws were held at Kati Kati on Tuesday morning.

The mouthwatering tie between MUBS and UMU is a repeat of the 2015 and 2017 finals.

The Nakawa based institute won the 2015 final, humiliating UMU in a game which ended 4-0 to defend their crown they had won in 2014. Goals from Derrick Wasswa, Moses Kifumba, Musa Esenu and Davis Kasujja gave MUBS needed victory at Namboole.

Draw results – Badru Katumba photo

Two years later, the two sides met and the Nkozi side sealed their revenge with a sweet 2-0 win to win the 2017 UFL Championship. Coached by Shafic Bisaso then, UMU scored goals through Douglas Owori and Lauben Lubega.

MUBS Coach Charles Ayeiko commented that this is a fine draws for his team.

“This is good because we are to face a team which we know very well, We have played them twice in the finals and we have to defeat them because the journay must end in Final at Namboole,” Ayiekho, noted.

He revealed that he has beefed up his squad with some new players like Sharif Ssengendo from Dynamic SS, and his team is far better than the one that played in the group stages.

UMU coach Mugerwa Noah also welcomed the draw, though it will be his first time to face MUBS as a coach.

Mugerwa said:

“Its a fair draw though it will be a tough one for us, we are going back to prepare well our boys God willing we hope to show MUBS an exit door.”

In other draws, the defending Champion Kyambogo Universty who are coached by Deo Sserwadda, has to face Bugema University.

Busitema will face UCU while St Lawrence to play as host to YMCA in the quater final first leg.

The games will start on 4th September, the organisers revealed to

SLAU face YMCA. Badru Katumba photo

The UFL Draws

*Bugema University Vs Kyambogo University
*Busitema University Vs Uganda Christian University
*St Lawrence University Vs YMCA
*MUBS Vs Uganda Martyrs University

Past Winners.

2018 – Kyambogo University
2017 – Uganda Martyrs University
2016 – Kampala University
2015 – MUBS
2014 – MUBS
2013 – Kampala University
2012 – Makerere University

× Advertisment
%d bloggers like this: