Birthday Boy Ssekisambu Delivers Fourth Straight Super Cup For KCCA

Wednesday, August 28
*KCCA FC 4-1 Proline FC

Erisa Ssekisambi scored a brace as KCCA FC thrashed Proline FC to win the 2019 FUFA Super Cup.

Musa Ramathan and Allan Okello scored the other goals for KCCA in the deserved 4-1 win, while Musa Ramathan scored in his own net as Matia Lule’s charges walked off with something at least to show.

This was a perfect gift for Ssekisambu, born August 28, who celebrated his birthday in style. It’s the first time Ssekisambu was scoring for KCCA FC since joining from Gor Mahia.

The Super Cup title, is the fourth for the Garbage collectors in a row and sixth overall.

Gulf in Class

Ssekisambu capitalised on Hassan Matovu’s blunder to put KCCA FC in the lead inside the sixth minute. The forward bundled home after Proline keeper Matovu spilled Sadat Anaku’s low effort.

Okello doubled the advantage in the 14th minute with a beautiful trademark curler, typical of a youngster.

Ssekisambu put the game beyond Proline’s reach with a thunderous rocket, picking a ball from lost possession in the 70th minute.

Magambo scored in his own net after an attempted save from goalkeeper Charles Lukwago who was trying to keep out Nordin Bunjo’s initial effort.

Defender Musa made it four, shooting beneath a helpless Matovu.

Proline created few chances, with lanky forward Alfred Leku at the end of the missed opportunities.

KCCA FC at the other end were dominant in a game that clearly showed the gulf in class between the two sides.

Muzamir Mutyaba had his weaker shot cleared while Ssekisambu was denied an hat-trick.

Past Super Cup Winners
2005 – Police FC 2-1 URA FC
2006 – N/A
2007 – URA FC 1-0 Express FC
2008-2012 – N/A
2013 – KCCA FC 1(4)-1(3) Victoria University
2014 – KCCA FC 2-0 URA FC
2015 – Vipers 0(5)-0(3) SC Villa
2016 – KCCA FC 1-0 Vipers
2017 – KCCA FC 3-0 Paidha Black Angels
2018 – KCCA FC 0(4)-0(2) Vipers
2019 – KCCA FC 4-1 Proline FC

Teams used
Charles Lukwago GK (C), Peter Magambo, Samuel Kato, Musa Ramathan, Mustafa Kizza,Gift Abubakar Ali, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Jackson Nunda, Allan Okello, Erisa Ssekisambu, Sadat Anaku

Proline Fc
Hassan Matovu (GK), Mustafa Mujuzi,James Begesa, Richard Ajuna, Yusuf mukisa, Arnold Ssenyonjo,Sam Kintu,Bright Anukani, Noordin Bunjo (C), Alfred Leku, Hakim Kiwanuka

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: