UPL: URA FC Outclass Maroons FC At Namboole

Friday, August 30
*URA FC 3-0 Maroons
(Mandela National Stadium, Namboole)

URA FC pummeled Maroons FC 3-0 in their league game opener on Friday at Mandela National Stadium Namboole.

Saidi Kyeyune put the hosts in the lead in the 16th minutes when he scored at far the post from a well constructed move after receiving a through ball from Cromwel Rwothomio.

Ronald Orombi scored in his own net, six minutes into the second half after he failed to clear from Ashraf Mandela’s cross in the 18 yard box from the right wing.

Substitute Ivan Ntege who replaced Mikidadi Ssenyonga, scored a beauty on his debut for URA FC in 84th minute from Kyeyune’s assist after defender Ogwang Joel lost possession from his box.

The victory sends Sam Ssimbwa’s charges on top of the log, a major boost for the Revenue Collectors who had a busy transfer window.

Man of the match – Saidi Kyeyune

URA looked too good and attacked from the first whistle – The hosts registered three attempts on target in the opening 10 minutes of the game as Maroons fought for their dear life.

The side could have scored more, Rwothomio’s had a keeper to beat but fired over the bar. Maroons goalkeeper Emmanuel Awol kept out Kyeyune’s free kick and Mandela’s rocket.

Maroons who were on the receiving end almost in the entire game had only two clear cut chances – Pius Obuya’s close range shot from Nsubuga’s through pass was saved by Alionzi Nafian in 30th minute And Kabona Edward’s goalkeeper to beat rattled into the side net.

Saidi Kyeyune was named man of the match.

URA return in action on September 3rd 2019 to face Wakiso Giants FC at Kabaka Kyabagu Wakissha Stadium While Maroons face Kyetume FC at Luzira Prisons on Tuesday 2nd.

Team used


Alionz Nafian, Mandela Ashraf, Waibi Yeseri, Hudu Mulyiki, Mbowa Patrick, Saidi Kyeyune, Kalega Hassan, Sseruyidde Moses, Ssenyonga Mikidadi, Kagimu Shafik, Cromwel Rwothomio.

Alitho James, Nyakoojo Benjamin, Mutyaba Julius, Ntege Ivan, Ntege Anwaru, Sserubiri Ivan, Kigongo Ronald.


Emmanuel Akol, Kapampa Eddie, Bwogi Edgar, Okello Sylvester, Ogwang Joel, Mayanja Davis, Orombi Ronald, Obuya Pius, Walusimbi Solomon, Amaku Fred, Nsubuga Bronson.

Substitutes: Sebwalunnyo Hannington, Okot Felix, Bayiga Patrick, Agau Rashid, Kabona Edward, Kiibi William, Amanya Junior.

× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: