UPL: Tooro United Overcome Busoga At Waterlogged Wankulukuku

Saturday, August 31
*Tooro United 2-1 Busoga United

Tooro United were 2-1 winners over Busoga United in a StarTimes Uganda Premier League game played at Muteesa II Stadium, Wankulukuku.

The game never lived as earlier advertised and kickoff was delayed due to rain and inspection of players’ licenses.

Consequently, the game duration had to be reduced for 80 minutes, 40 minutes each half.

John Semazzi directed an header at the far post thanks to a beautiful corner delivered by Arthur Kiggundu as the two new signings combined to give Tooro an early lead in the 19th minute.

The visitors, formerly known as Kirinya Jinja SS, levelled matters with Dan Ssewava heading in from corner at the half hour mark.

Charles Musiige

Fredericks Kigozi Nicholas came off the bench to restore the lead, and his chip that beat a helpless Benson Wagima proved to be the winner.

Paul Ssekulima had a chance to snatch a late point for the visitors but his shot went an inch wide with keeper Crispus Kusime already miles off his line.

Joel Madondo was earlier denied by Kusiima who kept out his shot for the corner that contributed Busoga’s goal in the first half.

Tooro’s Charles Musiige had a drive that went over the bar in a game where football movement was greatly affected by a waterlogged pitch after a heavy downpour.

Tooro United returns to action against Vipers at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on Tuesday while Busoga United will host KCCA FC at Njeru on the same day.

Teams Used:

Tooro United Starting XI:
Chrispas Tusime (GK), Mukasa Musa, Isaac Lumu, Muhumuza Paddy, Steven Luswata, Charles Musige, Arthur Kiggundu, Omvia Steven, Mike Kawooya, John Ssemazi, Davis Ssali, Yafesi Mubiru

Faizol Ssekyanzi, Denis Mugerwa, Isa Mubiru, Fredrick Kigozi, John Byamukama, Meddi Kibirige.

Busoga United XI
Wagima Benson (GK), Muganga Douglas, Kawawulo Isma, Kakeeto Shafik, Isinde Isaac 05
Mandela Nelson, Kasonko George, Wani Ivan,Sewava Dan, Madondo Joel, Kirya Jerome

Kimera Ali, Sekulima Paul, Semwogerere Joseph, Zziwa Vicente, Debo Julius, Magombe Hakim

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: