UPL: Villa Beat Express To Extend Lead Atop

Friday, September 13
*Express FC 0-1 SC Villa
(Betway Muteesa II Stadium)

SC Villa picked maximum points against their bitter rivals Express FC on matchday five of the StarTimes Uganda Premier League.

Ambrose Kirya’s goal at the 70th mark proved the difference in a well attended Kampala derby played at Betway Muteesa II Stadium.

Kirya headed Derrick Ndahiro’s lofty delivery to give Express’ goalkeeper no chance.

Action at Wankulukuku

The victory is the third for SC Villa – including a walkover against Proline FC – and sends the club to ten points. VIlla who lost to Kyetume FC in the opener and drew against Police FC, also beat Mbarara City.

Coming into the game at the back of their maiden win against Mbarara, the Red Eagles failed to capitalise on the momentum and hence suffer their third loss of the season.

Express had lost against BUL FC and Onduparaka. They drew one all against Bright Stars.

Express FC will visit Proline FC on October 2 while Villa host SC Vipers the following day.

Express FC XI

At the final whistle, George Ssimwogerere stood still for about five minutes contemplating the ressult and what the future holds.

The Red Eagles will blame the loss on a penalty denied by Referee Ali Sabira who waved play on after Frank Ssenyondo was brought down by Saidi Keni. The little striker was stretchered off and rushed to hospital before replaced by Mweru Doka.

Express were the second best on the day but got the best chances.

Frank Kalanda forced an early save from Keni thanks to a low corner from Disan Galiwango. The shot stopper also denied Hamdan Nsubuga, Andrew Kiwanuka. Joshua Musoke beat Ndahiro but shot over wide.

Ndahiro put up a man of the match performance despite his crosses in the first half going unattended too.

Bashir Mutanda had a weak volley collected by Joshua Adea, Yayo Lutimba shot far and wide while Charles Lwanga tapped wide from David Owori’s low assist.

Teams Used:

Express XI
Joshua Adea (GK), Lawrence Kigonya, Andrew Kiwanuka, Cyrus Kibande, Martin Kizza, Dennis Sserukwaya, Hamdan Nsubuga, Daniel Shabena, Frank Ssenyondo, Frank Kalanda, Disan Galiwango

Tony Kyamera (GK), Hamisi Batega, Ivan Ocholit, Axel Konan, Idris Kabonge, Doka Mweru, Joshua Musoke

Said Keni, Ibrahim Kibumba, Yayo Lutimba, Moses Kiggundu, Asuman Alishe, Amir Kakomo, David Owori, Emmanuel Kalyowa, Ambrose Kirya, Bashir Mutanda, Derrick Ndahiro.

Sam Kivumbi, Gavin Kizito, Charles Lwanga, Albert Mugisa, Allan Kabonge, Emmanuel Wasswa, Lincoln Mukisa

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: