Editor's PicksFootball

Rewind: When Shaban’s Lone Goal Broke KCCA’s Continental Jinx

KCCA FC welcomes Angola’s Petro Atletico de Luanda on Friday at StarTimes Stadium in Lugogo for a CAF Champions league qualifier – The first leg ended goalless.

This is reminiscent to the events in 2018 when KCCA became the first Ugandan club to reach the group stages of the CAF Champions League.

Mutebi’s charges are 90 minutes away from returning to the lucrative CAF Champions League group stages.

Paul Mucureezi in action for KCCA FC in 2018

Before 2018, KCCA had knocked on the doors of the group stages but the attempts seemed so close yet so far

They failed against Al Merreikh after a tremendous campaign where they beat SuperSport United and Ferroviario Maputo in 2009.

They bowed to Nkana and Cosmos in 2014 and 2015 respectively before a late Anthony Lafor’s thunderous strike at Lugogo in 2017 compounded the misery.

In 2018 KCCA beat CNAPs before meeting Ethiopia’s St George at the first round, a hurdle away to the groups.

Shaban Mohammed against St George at Lugogo. KCCA

The sides drew goalless in the first leg in Addis Ababa before meeting on March 3, 2018 at Lugogo as the hosts needed nothing but victory to end the wait.

After being denied twice by Robert Odongkara, Shaban Mohammed scored what proved to be the winner in the 47th minute.

The striker, signed from Onduparaka, headed in from Mustafa Kizza’s cross after the left back had collected from Muzamir Mutyaba’s low corner.

The visitors huffed and puffed but failed to beat an outstanding custodian Charles Lukwago.

KCCA FC historical XI

Team Line ups:

KCCA FC Team Used: Charles Lukwago, Dennis Okot Oola, Habib Kavuma, Timothy Dennis Awany, Isaac Kirabira, Paul Mucureezi, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Allan Okello, Mustapha Kizza, Muhammed Shaban, Derrick Nsibambi

Subs – Jamil Maliyamungu (G.K), Fillbert Obenchan, Lawrence Bukenya, Solomon Okwalinga, Hassan Musana, Patrick Kaddu, Julius Poloto

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: