National Teams

World Athletics Championship: Chesang Seeks To Break Ethiopia-Kenya 10,000M Dominance

Stella Chesang is an outsider to win the 10,000M on Saturday night but headlines Uganda’s hope for a podium finish in what promises to be a closely contested race between Kenyans and Ethiopians.

The Ethiopians (7) and Kenyans (4) take a lion’s share in this category with a combined 11 gold medals out of a possible 15.

Chesang, starting in lane three, with Juliet Chekwel and Rachael Zena Chebet are the three Ugandans in the lineup of 22 for a race that starts at 9:10PM in Doha.

Stellah Chesang (middle) will hope to carry Uganda’s flag aloft. Courtesy photo

Chesang won gold in the 10,000M at the 2018 Commonwealth games held in Gold Coast and will be hoping for similar fortunes.

With a lowly personal best of 31:38.70 in this category, Chesang will bank on her underdog status to defy odds.

The hard working lady, promoted from the rank of Special Police Constable (SPC) to the rank of Inspector of Police recently, was confident that she will leave a mark when team Uganda was flagged off at NCS.

“We are well prepared, we have been in camp for two months and I know am going to win. I have done enough training and am feeling ready to compete,” Chesang told Journalists.

Chesang competed in the 5000M in 2017 Worlds in London but failed to make the semis cut but has decided to go for the deep waters of 10,000M at Doha amidst all the scare of the hot temperatures despite the fact that team Uganda was training in a cold Kapchorwa district.

She vowed to go toe to toe with Kenyans and Ethiopians in a race no Ugandan has ever clinched a podium finish at the World Championships.

World and Olympic champion Alamza Ayana together with fellow Ethiopians Letesenbef Gidey, Netsabet Gudeta and Senbere Teferi. Kenya’s Helen Obiri and Agnes Tirop are the favourites.

Ethiopia’s legend Tirunesh Dibaba. Courtesy photo

Past Winners
1987 (Rome) – Ingrid Kristiansen (NOR)
1991 (Tokyo) – Liz McColgan (GBR)
1993 (Stuttgart) – Wang Junxia (CHN)
1995 (Gothenburg) – Fernanda Ribeiro (POR)
1997 (Athens) – Sally Barsosio (KEN)
1999 (Seville) – Gete Wami (ETH)
2017 (London) – Alamza Ayana (Ethiopia)
2015 (Beijing) – Vivian Cheruiyot (Kenya)
2013 (Moscow) – Tirunesh Dibaba (Ethiopia)
2011 (Daegu) – Vivian Cheruiyot (Kenya)
2009 (Berlin) – Linet Masai (Kenya)
2007 (Osaka) – Tirunesh Dibaba (Ethiopia)
2005 (Helsinki) – Tirunesh Dibaba (Ethiopia)
2003 (Saint Denis) – Berhane Adere (Ethiopia)
2001 (Edmonton) – Derartu Tulu (Ethiopia)

Related posts

CECAFA Women Cup: Uganda, Group B Preview

Peace Diane Bagala

Uganda Vs Burundi: Preview, Probable Lineup and How To Watch CECAFA

Brian Kawalya

2021 AFCON Qualifiers: Uganda Cranes Get ‘Easy’ Opponents

Brian Kawalya

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

%d bloggers like this: