UPL: Bayo Daggers Former Team As Vipers Cruise After Delayed Kickoff

Vipers players join Bayo to celebrate the lone goal. Vipers SC media

Saturday, October 5
*Vipers 1-0 Proline FC

Fahad Bayo scored past his former pay masters Proline FC as Vipers laboured to a 1-0 win on matchday seven of the StarTimes UPL.

Bayo powered in a strong header past Hassan Matovu off Innocent Wafula’s delivery in the 53rd minute to sent the home fans, including the St Mary’s students, into frenzy celebrations.

Bayo, did not celebrate the goal, he rather raised his hands in the air before he was joined by teammates who were in jubilant moods.

“It’s emotional for me to score against my former team, a club I played for even in the Big league, but am however happy for the win as we set our target of winning the trophy this season,” Bayo told the-SportsNation.com after the game.

Proline leaves Kitende empty handed but mainly hard done by the officials’ decisions after they were forced to remove two unlicensed players – Mahad Yaya Kakooza and Edirisa Lubega – from their matchday squad, a decision which led the game’s kickoff to delay for 38 minutes.

Mahad and Lubega who have featured in some league games for Proline, with the latter scoring against Onduparaka, were replaced by James Begesa and Rogers Mato. Begesa a right back, was employed to play in an advanced role consequently.

Vipers SC XI against Proline at Kitende

Despite the delay, the game was free flowing but both sides looked blunt in the final third.

Wafula had a good game but Bayo, Allan Kayiwa and Karim Watambala failed to connect his crosses in a frustrating first half.

Youngster Bobos Byaruhanga and Siraje Ssentamu commanded the middle of the park,l with the former had a long range effort go an inch wide.

The visitors had James Begesa fire over the bar from Noordin Bunjo’s delivery, substitute Bright Anukani curled off the target while Mustafa Mujuzi’s rocket from the freekick was kept out by Fabien Mutombora.

The win pushes Vipers to 11 points and will return to action against Police FC at Lugogo while Proline return to action against Busoga United at home.

Teams Used

Vipers XI – Fabien Mutombora, Paul Willa, Aziz Kayondo, Bashir Asiku, Halid Lwaliwa, Siraje Ssentamu, Bobos Byaruhanga, Karim Watambala, Innocent Wafula, Fahad Bayo, Allan Kayiwa

Substitutes – Derrick Ochan, Ahmed Amayo, Farouk Musisi, Brian Nkuubi, Dan Sserunkuma, Brian Kalumba, Abram Ndugwa

Proline FC – Hassan Matovu, Saka Mpiima, Yusuf Mukisa, Mustafa Mujuzi, Bernard Muwanga, James Begesa, Rogers Mato, Ibrahim Wamanah, Alfred Leku, Hakim Kiwanuka

Substitutes – Shatif Magoola, Bright Anukani, Sam Kintu, Ibrahim Ssendi, Richard Ajuna.

× Advertisment
%d bloggers like this: