FootballNational TeamsUganda Cranes

CHAN: Uganda Beat Burundi to Reach Fifth Straight Finals

Saturday, October 19
*Uganda 3-0 Burundi
(Uganda win 6-0 on aggregate)

Uganda Cranes beat Burundi 3-0 at Lugogo to collect a 6-0 aggregate victory and qualify to the total African Nations Champions (CHAN) for the fifth consecutive time.

After winning 3-0 in Bujumbura, it was all but done for Cranes going into the second leg at home.

Fahad Bayo, Viane Ssekajugo and Allan Okello scored a goal each to hand Abdallah Mubiru’s side a deserved victory.

Viane Ssekajugo wheels away in celebration. FUFA

Cranes started on a high with Vipers forward Fahad Bayo scoring from Mustafa Kizza cross in the fifth minute.

Wakiso Giants’ forward Viane Ssekajugo collected from Paul Willa to bundle home the second in the second half.

With eight minutes left on the clock, KCCA FC’s Allan Okello put the final nail in Burundi’s coffin, tapping in a lose ball from Burundi custodian Onesime Rukundo.

Allan Okello and Mustafa Kizza. FUFA

At 1-0, Bayo could have doubled the lead in the 16th minute but he miss calculated Okello’s through pass with the Burundi defense beaten while Kagimu’s powerful effort was denied by traffic.

The visitors who had eliminated South Sudan, put up a contest but Cranes had all the answers – Iddy Muselemu shot wide while subsititute Bayizere Olivier had his header go over the bar.

Uganda Cranes qualifying after scoring a total of 13 goals in the four qualification games played against Somalia and Burundi, conceding just twice.

Allan Okello (left) under siege. FUFA

Cranes Journey to Cameroon

Somalia 1-3 Uganda

Uganda 4-1 Somalia

Burundi 0-3 Uganda

Uganda 3-0 Burundi

Teams Used

Uganda: Charles Lukwago (GK), Nicholas Kasozi, Yusuf Ssozi, Shafiq Kagimu, Fahad Bayo, Mike Mutyaba, Mustafa Kizza, Halid Lwaliwa (C), Paul Willa, John Revita, Allan Okello

Burundi: Onesime Rukundo, Cedric Mavugo, Iddy Muselemu, Youssouf Ndayishimiye, Landary Ndikumana, Abdoul Amini, Emmanuel Harerimana, Eric Ndizeye, Asman Ndikumana. Abed Bigirimana, Cedric Dany Urasenga

× Advertisment
%d bloggers like this: