UPL: Tedious Villa Rescue Late Point

Action at Luzira. Sanyuka TV photo

Friday, November 1
*SC Villa 1-1 URA FC

SC Villa squeezed out a point by the skin of their teeth with a late penalty to hold URA FC in a StarTimes UPL game at Luzira Prisons ground.

Ambrose Kirya scored from the spot, hitting his effort inside the crossbar, from the 93rd minute after Hudu Mulikyi was judged to have brought down substitute Faisal Muwawu with a last ditch tackle.

Brian Majwega send Saidi Keni the wrong way to put the tax collectors in the lead under 20 minutes, with a penalty, after Yayo Lutimba had tripped Ojera in the forbidden area.

Action at Luzira playground. Sanyuka TV photos

Sam Ssimbwa will feel hard done by William Oloya’s officiating on the day – The referee waived play on when Saidi Kyeyune was brought down by goalkeeper Saidi Keni when the game was still goalless.

It was a less eventful affair at a muddy Luzira but URA dominated proceedings and enjoyed much of possession but failed to bury their chances.

Kagimu fired over the bar after being put through by a short freekick by Kyeyune while substitute Mikidad Ssenyonga was denied by a lower post.

Cromwell Rwothomio could have made it 2-0 when he collected from Kagimu, beat Asuman Alishe but his effort was thwarted by Keni.

Villa who had no shot on goal in the first stanza, had their best chance fall to Muwawu but his header was finger-tipped by Alionzi Nafian for a corner.

Kalyowa fired over the bar from a loose ball. Kibumba, after racing past URA defender and crossed from the byline to find Muwawu whose shot after a beautiful low turn was just wide.

Villa extend their unbeaten run to nine games – Edward Kaziba’s team has not lost a game since falling 1-0 to Kyetume FC in their opener at Namboole.

The record winners who will face Tooro United on November 6, remain fourth with 17 points.

Ssimbwa’s tax collectors who drew their fifth game, are 10th on the log with 11 points from nine games.

Starting XI

SC Villa – Saidi Keni (GK), Ibrahim Kibumba, Yayo Lutimba, Gavin Kizito, Asuman Harishe (C), Lincoln Mukisa,Charles Lwanga, Amborse Kirya, Ronald Magwali, Derrick Ndahiro

URA FC – Alionzi Nafian (Gk), Ashiraf Mandela, Brian Majwega, Patrick Mbowa, Hudu Mulyki, Ivan Ntege, Saidi Kyeyune, Shafiq Kagimu (C), Joackim Ojera, Michael Birungi, Daniel Isiagi

Also Read – Bright Stars Vs Onduparaka match Preview

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: