UPL: KCCA Outclass, Leapfrog Villa

KCCA FC players celebrate Mustafa Kizza’s goal. Aminah Babirye photo

Friday, November 29
*KCCA FC 4-1 SC Villa

KCCA FC obliterated rivals SC Villa in a StarTimes UPL encounter at Lugogo.

The hosts ran riot in a 4-1 emphatic victory to leapfrog Villa in third place.

Joseph Kafumbe, Erisa Ssekisambu, Mustafa Kizza and Allan Okello were on target for Mike Mutebi’s charges while Amir Kakomo’s goal was a consolation.

KCCA move to second place with 29 points while Villa drop to fourth with 27 points.

Villa Outclassed

Coming into the game, Villa had an outside chance to upset the odds, but had to do much better than last season when they lost 4-2 at the same ground.

Edward Kaziba’s side had not lost a game since falling 1-0 to Kyetume FC at Namboole.

The hosts on the other hand were hungry after losing 2-1 away to Mbarara and they couldn’t have any better start than two goals in the first half.

Joseph Kafumbe bundled in from close range for the opener under 10 minutes.

Ssekisambu doubled the advantage when he fired to beat Saidi Keni at the far post in the 32nd minute.

Mustafa made it three when his long range effort went direct into the net after beautiful build up that involved Ssekisambu and Ssenyonjo.

Okello was freed by Ssenyonjo before bundling home to provide an icing on cake.

Villa looked a shadow of themselves, as the side failed to settle in the game and lost three players to injury due to artificial turf.

David Owori had a chip parried away by Charles Lukwago while Nicholas Kabonge was also denied by the custodian.

Kakomo had a big chance but his header off Ema Kalyowa’s corner flew over the bar.

KCCA’s youngster Sam Ssenyonjo had a good game, making three assists on the day but missed two clear cut chances including a header at close range.

KCCA will face Proline FC on Tuesday in their final game.

Teams Used

KCCA – Charles Lukwago, Musa Ramathan, Mustafa Kizza, Samuel Kato, John Revita, Gift Ali, Joseph Kafumbe, Erisa Ssekisambu, Muzamir Mutyaba, Sam Ssenyonjo, Allan Okello

Villa – Saidi Keni, Derrick Ndahiro, Moses Kiggundu, Asuman Alishe, Amir Kakomo, David Owori, Emma Kalyowa, Ambrose Kirya, Faizal Muwawu, Nicholas Kabonge, Ibrahim Kibumba.

× Advertisment
%d bloggers like this: