Denis Onyango Misses Out On CAF Awards Shortlist

Uganda Cranes and Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Denis Onyango has been left out on the shortlist of nominees for the forthcoming 2019 CAF Awards.

Onyango was among the 30 players on the initial shortlist to compete for the African player of the year, but the short stopper has failed to make the cut after the final phase of voting were the top ten were unveiled.

Onyango and Cranes forward Emmanuel Okwi have not made the top five in the Interclubs player of the year category as well according to the list revealed by CAF.

Here is the first shortlist of CAF Awards

The shortlist of nominees was decided upon by votes from a CAF Technical & Development Committee and a panel of media experts with emphasis on the nominees’ performance of during the year under review, 2019.

The final phase of voting for the men’s and women’s African Player of the Year, as well as the male and female Coach of the Year, will be selected by Head Coaches/Technical Directors and Captains of senior national teams from CAF Member Associations.

The Interclubs Player of the Year will be decided upon by the Head Coaches and Captains of the group phase of the current season of CAF Interclubs competitions.

Sundowns goalkeeper Denis Onyango made the initial list of the 2019 CAF Awards. Courtesy photo

The award winners for each category will be announced during the CAF Awards ceremony on Tuesday, 7 January 2020, at the Albatros Citadel Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Egypt.

Player of the Year
André Onana (Cameroon & Ajax), Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax), Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool), Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Shanghai Shenhua), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City), Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool), Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah)

Women’s Player of the Year
Ajara Nchout (Cameroon & Valerenga), Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona), Gabrielle Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moscow), Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning), Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Beijing Phoenix FC)

Interclubs Player of the Year
Anice Badri (Tunisia & Esperance), Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & RS Berkane / Al Ain), Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance), Tarek Hamed (Egypt & Zamalek), Youcef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

Youth Player of the Year
Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund), Krépin Diatta (Senegal & Club Brugge), Moussa Djenepo (Mali & Southampton), Samuel Chukwueze (Nigeria & Villarreal), Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille)

Men’s Coach of the Year
Aliou Cisse (Senegal – Senegal), Christian Gross (Switzerland – Zamalek), Djamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria), Moïne Chaâbani (Tunisia – Esperance), Nicolas Dupuis (France – Madagascar)

Women’s Coach of the Year
Alain Djeumfa (Cameroon), Bruce Mwape (Zambia), Clementine Toure (Côte d’Ivoire), Desiree Ellis (South Africa), Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Men’s National Team of the Year
Algeria, Madagascar, Nigeria, Senegal, Tunisia

Women’s National Team of the Year
Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *