Editor's Picks

USPA Awards: Journalists Vote Best Sports Personalities

Joshua Cheptegei won best sports personality last year. Courtesy

Sports Journalists body in the country, Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) have on Monday voted the outstanding sports personalities from various disciplines for the concluded year 2019.

The event, held at Imperial Royale Hotel in Kampala, started with naming the best sports personality for December, an accolade that went to Uganda Cricket Cranes.

The Cricket team, that was captained by Brian Masaba, won the first phase of World Cricket League unbeaten. They edged U17 Girls football team that won the CECAFA U17 and Ndejje University who were the overall winners at 2019 Inter-university games in Kisubi.

The Sports Personality for the year 2019 will be crowned at a later date where Defending champion Joshua Cheptegei is a favourite.

Best organised Sports Event, Team of the year, Sports Legend Award and Best run federation will be named on the day, awaiting official communication.

Here are the Winners:

*Best Ludo Players – Tom Kasozi (Kamwokya)

*Best Body Builder – Isaac Mubikirwa

*Best Kick-boxer – Patricia Apolot

*Best Darts Player – Patrick Ochieng and Sarah Makanga

*Best Woodball Players – Brian Gwaaka and Denise Nanjeru

*Best Weight-lifter – Zubair Kubo

*Best Handball Players – Ibrahim Kongo and Lillian Achola

*Best Badminton Players – Daniel Muhigo and Aisha Nakiyemba

*Best Rugby Players – Pius Ogena and Samiya Ayikoru

*Best Volleyball Players – Daudi Okello and Grace Akiror

*Best Netball Player – Stellah Oyella

*Motocross Rider – Gift Ssebuguzi

*Motor-rally crew – Yasin Nasser and Ali Katumba

*Best Boxer – David Ssemujju

*Best Cricketers – Shazad Kamal and Janet Mbabazi

*Best Tennis Players – Troy Zziwa

*Best Swimmers – Tendo Mukalazi and Kirabo Namutebi

*Best Squash Player – Ian Rukunya

*Best Chess Players – Harold Wanyama and Maria Nakanyike

*Best Golfers – Joseph Cwinya’ai and Martha Babirye

*Best Basketball Player – James Okello and Hope Akello

*Best Athletes – Joshua Cheptegei and Halima Nakaayi

*Best Footballer – Emmanuel Okwi and Juliet Nalukenge

× Advertisment
%d bloggers like this: