UPL: Sunday Opio Hands KCCA Win Over Tooro

Sunday Opio in action

KCCA FC beat Tooro United to sink it into relegation after a 1-0 win in their match day 18 at Startimes Lugogo to pile pressure on log leaders Vipers SC who lost theirs to Villa.

Youngster Sunday Opio scored the only goal of the game to keep title defense chances alive for his KCCA FC side.

KCCA started the hungrier side to prevent shocking results in which happened in their last game and in just after 6u minutes of play, Steven Sserwada’s shot heat the cross bar from a close range, before Achai shooting wide.

In 15th minute,Opio Sundy picked from Mike Mutyaba’s corner kick which was falsely cleared by Tooro defense to put the hosts in the lead.

Sadat Anuka had a chance to double the lead but his close range shot was parried out by Chris Kusiima into a corner in 30th minutes before KCCA only Second half chance was presented to substitute Erisa Ssekisambu who replaced Mike Mutyaba but his heavy 18 yard shot was stopped by Chris Kusiima.

Tooro’s first chance presented to Substitute James Kasibante in 60th minute who replaced injured Willy Kavuma in the first half,but his free header was finger tipped by Jamil Malyamungu into the corner.

Yafeesi Mubiru who was unmarked with a goal keeper to beat, had a chance to level matter in the last Eight minutes but he was denied by poor right foot touch which made James Kasibante’s fine cross useless.

A win has seen KCCA FC who are now 2nd with 38 points, closing a gap to four points to table leader Vipers SC who has lost their match day 18 to third placed Villa SC .

Tooro United has remained in the premises of relegation zone,being 15th on the table with 15 points collected from 18 matches.

KCCA FC will travel to Jinja to play Kyetume in their next fixture,while Tooro will host tax collectors URA FC.

Line-up Used.
Jamil Malyamungu, Filbert Obenchan, Hassan Musana, John Revita, Samuel Kato, Gift Ali, Herbert Achai, Steven Sserwada, Opio, Sadat Anaku, Mike Mutyaba.

Ali Mwirusi, Peter Magambo, Julius Poloto, Nicholas Kasozi, Joseph Kafumbe, Moses Aliro, Erisa Ssekisambu.

Tooro United.
Chris Kusiima, Farouk Katongole, Davis Ssali, John Byamukama, Isah Mubiru, Rashid Mukungu, Willy Kavuma, Yafeesi Mubiru, Charles Musiige, Dennis Mugerwa, Moses Kakembo.

Deus Katuramu, Gerald Lule, Faizal Ssekyanzi, James Kasibante.

× Advertisment
%d bloggers like this: