UPL: Express Bounce Back With Win Against Proline

Express beat Proline at Kavumba.

Saturday, January 18
*Express FC 3-0 Proline FC

Express FC got back to winning ways with a 3-0 empathic win against Proline in a Startimes UPL game played at the Kavumba recreation play ground.

First half goals from Dennis Sserukwaya, an own goal by Arnold Sserunjogi and a second strike by Ivan Ocholit were all the hosts needed to give coach George Ssemwogere a lifeline.

The Red Eagles came into the game on the back of a 6-1 humiliating loss against Police at Lugogo and needed nothing but victory against a bottom placed side.

Sserukwaya put hosts in the lead through a penalty kick after Ocholit was fouled in the box by Ramathan Juma in the eighth minute.

Two minutes later, Arnold Sserunjogi doubled Express lead when he scored in his own net off a Daniel Shabena free kick.

Shabena had his free kick kept away by goalkeeper Shatif Magoola while Hamisi Kizza’s header was punched away by Mathias Muwanga at the other end.

Hakim Kiwanuka came close but goalkeeper Muwanga couldn’t allow his shot go past him.

Ocholit bagged the third for Express at the hour mark, tapping in an empty net thanks to a Doka Mweru donkey work who had beaten defender Ramathan Juma.

James Begisa had his header go out wide off a Bright Anukani free kick as Proline tried to get a consolation.

Proline FC were awarded a penalty after a foul committed on Rodgers Mato by Sserukwaya in the box but forward Kiwanuka failed from the spot.

Express, after Proline win, are now 10th on the StarTimesUPL table with 21 points after 18 games played.

The red Eagles will be taking a short visit to rivals SC Villa on matchday 19

Proline remain bottom of the table with 12 points out of the 18 games played.

Proline will be seeking to get back to winning ways when they welcome Police on match-day 19.

Also Read: Express, Villa Stone Rivalry

Team Starters

Express – Mathias Muwanga Muhammad Yiga, Martin Kizza, David Kakeeto, Andrew Kiwanuka, Lawrence Kigonya, Dennis Sserukwaya, Daniel Shabena, Frank Ssenyondo, Doka Mweru, Ivan Ocholit

Proline – Shatif Magoola, Ibrahim Ssendi, Ramathan Juma, Hamza Mulambuzi, Ibrahim Wammanah, Arnold Sserunjogi, Bright Anukani, Hakim Kiwanuka, James Besiga, Hamis Kizza, Noordin Bunjo (C)

× Advertisment
%d bloggers like this: