Basket Ball

Afrobasket Qualifiers: Silverbacks Squad Of Local Players Summoned

Federation of Uganda Basketball Association (FUBA) national team committee has summoned a squad of 14 local players for the Silverbacks ahead of the 2021 Afrobasket Qualifiers.

The qualifiers, where Uganda was pitted in Pool E alongside Egypt, Morocco and Zone 3 winner, will take place in Alexandria (Egypt) from 21-23 February, 2020.

Youngster Fayed Baale is one of the surprise inclusions on the team. The guard, who has represented Uganda at junior levels, was an integral part for UCU Canons’ impressive journey before falling to City Oilers in finals game seven.

Also Read – A1 Challenge Release Two Players

Uganda born Titus Lual Odeke and David Deng Kongor are the other UCU canons players on the summoned squad.

Ndejje’s guard Innocent Ochera has also received a call.

Four City Oilers players – Jimmy Enabu, Tonny Drilleba, Ben Komakech and James Okello have been listed.

About four international based players will be added to beef up the roster.

Silverbacks squad that played in AFROCAN in Kampala. FUBA

The AfroBasket 2021 will be hosted in Rwanda and is the 30th edition of the men’s basketball continental championship of Africa.

Uganda will be targeting to return to Afrobasket – an equivalent of AFCON in Football – for their third straight time after making their debut in 2015 in Tunisia before returning in 2017.

Summoned Players And Teams (featured for in 2019 season)

Ben Komakech (City Oilers), Tony Drileba (City Oilers), Fayed Bbale (UCU Canons), Innocent Ochera (Ndejje), Syrus Kiviiri (Betway Power), Paul Odong (Power), Jimmy Abraham Enabu (City Oilers), Joseph Ikong Anyuru (Power), David Deng Kongor (UCU), Geoffrey Soro (Power), James Okello (City Oilers), Stanley Mugerwa (Warriors), Ivan Jjumba Lumanyika (JKL), Titus Lual Odeke (UCU Canons).

The Qualification process:

*Group A – Tunisia, Central Africa Republic, DRC, Zone 6,7

*Group B – Senegal, Angola, Mozambique, Zone 5.

*Group C – Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Guinea, Zone 4

*Group D – Nigeria, Mali, Rwanda, Zone 1,2

*Group E – Morocco, Egypt, Uganda, Zone 3.

Having played in the Afrobasket in 2017, Uganda was among the 15 teams that received a bye at the first stage of qualification.

The second phase of qualifiers will see the five winners of each group progress to join the 15 teams that took part in the FIBA AfroBasket 2017 in Tunisia.

Zone three winner will join Uganda’s group. The Zone three qualifiers will be held in Liberia with hosts facing Ghana and Niger in January, in the first phase of qualifiers.

In the second phase (where Uganda is part), in each group, the teams will play two tournaments that will take place in three international windows.

Groups A, C and E will play from February 17-25, 2020 with the other two starting their campaign in the next window from November 23 – December 1, 2020 at venues yet to be determined.

Top three in each group will qualify to the 2021 FIBA Afrobasket, hosts Rwanda qualified automatically.

In 2017, Egypt finished eighth, Morocco came fourth while Uganda were 13th of the 16 teams.

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Advertisment
%d bloggers like this: