UPL: Steven Mukwala Scores 13th Goal As Tooro, Maroons Draw

Friday, January 31
*Maroons 1-1 Tooro United

Steven Mukwala scored his 13th league goal as Maroons and Tooro United shared spoils at Luzira Prisons ground.

The striker, on loan from Maroons, headed home from Solomon Walusimbi’s cross to give the Prison warders an early lead.

James Kasibante levelled matters before the break in the 43rd minute.

Mukwala leads the scoring charts with 13 goals, followed by Police’s Ben Ocen and Vipers’ Fahad Bayo who have scored 11 goals each.

Viane Ssekajugo of Wakiso has eight while Julius Malingumu (Onduparaka), Frank Kalanda (Express) and Cromwell Rwothomio (URA) have bagged seven each.

check UPL Website for full list of league topscorer

Steven Mukwala.

Tooro United Avoids Defeat

After putting his side into an early lead, Mukwala came close to doubling the lead but his shot was parried out into a corner.

Walusimbi also had a big chance to extend the score but with a keeper to beat, he drove his effort into the side-net.

Just before the break, Kasibante utilized his side’s only first half chance when he tapped in an equlizer from Yafesi Mubiru’s powerful left cross.

Also Read – Kitende Wins Elite Schools Championship

Tooro proved a better side in a second Stanza, enjoying most of the possesion, creating a couple of clear chances including Yafesi’s goal keeper to beat which was denied by a cross bar after demostrating good footwork.

Bamweyana made three substitutions of Fred Amaku, Ceaser Olega and Nsubuga Bronson who replaced Solomon Walusimbi, Sylvester Okello and Emmanuel Olinga in that order but there is nothing they could do as the side failed to get a breakthrough.

A point has moved maroons to 9th place on the table with 24 points from 20 games, and they will make a trip to Lugogo to play KCCA FC in their next league encounter.

Tooro remain in the Red zone, but a point sees them leapfrog Proline from rock bottom to 15th with 16 points.

They will host Wakiso Giants in their next encounter.

Lineup Used.

Maroons FC XI – Hannington Ssebwalunnyo, Okello Sylvester, Abraham Tusubira, Patrick Bayiga, Maxwell Okello, Junior Amanya, Davis Mayanja, Emmanuel Olinga, Solomon Walusimbi, Pius Obuya, Mukwala Steven.

Substitutes – Emmanuel Akol, Felix Okot, Edgar Bwogi, Bronson Nsubuga, Fred Amaku, Ceaser Olega, Racmac Ashaba.

Tooro United XI – Davis Ssali, Crispus Kusiima, Dennis Mugerwa, Isa Mubiru, Acram Kakembo, Mike Kawooya, Farouk Katongole, Rashid Mukungu, Charles Musiige, Yafesi Mubiru
James Kasibante.

Substitutes – Willy Kavuma, Faizo Sekyanzi, John Byamukama, Bruno Sserunkuma.

× Advertisment
%d bloggers like this: