University Football League: Expansion As 2020 Groups Revealed

The Groups

Group A
Kabale, Must, Kyambogo, UNIK

Group B

Group C
Busitema, UMU, KU, IUEA

Group D
Bishop Stuart, St Lawrence, MUBS, YMCA

Group E
Muni, Gulu, Bugema, Nkumba

The 2020 Pepsi University Football League will tentatively kickoff this Friday.

This year’s edition has see the league expanding from 16 teams to 20 teams in the group stages.

Speaking at the launch held on Tuesday at Kati Kati, organising committee chairman Vincent Kisenyi said that the expansion is in line with the UFL vision of providing all University students in the country a platform to showcase and develop their skills.

Kisenyi said:

“Last season, we had a preliminary stage where the bottom team from each group in the previous season took on new entrants for a place in the group stage. This season, however we shall not behaving a preliminary knockout stage. Instead, all 20 teams are going to compete in the group stage with the 20 teams being pooled in five groups of four each. The top team in each group plus the three best second placed teams will then progress to the knockout stage.”

Muni University, Kabale University and University of Kisubi join the league while Mbarara University of Science and Technology makes a return.

All 20 teams to take part in group stage which shall comprises five groups of teams each

Top team in each group progresses to knockout stage.

Three best second placed teams from the group stage also progress to knockout stage.

Group stages to be played from February to May. Knockout stage to be played from August to November.

The Mukono-based University, UCU, beat St Lawrence 2-1 in a final at Lugogo

Ezra Kaye Kizito scored a goal in either half while Misi Ssemugera’s effort proved to be a consolation for the Rubaga based campus.

Past Winners.

2018 – Kyambogo University
2017 – Uganda Martyrs University
2016 – Kampala University
2015 – MUBS
2014 – MUBS
2013 – Kampala University
2012 – Makerere University

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: