Swimming: Kirabo, Ambala Scoop Top Gongs At Annual Awards

Kirabo Namutebi and Atuhaire Ambala were named female and male swimmers of 2019 respectively at the annual Uganda Swimming Federation Excellence awards.

The glamorous event was held on Saturday night AF Gems Cambridge International school in Butabika, Kampala.

New state minister for Sports Hamson Obua graced the event and commended the initiative from USF to award athletes. He encouraged USF and other federations to make it a habit because it is a pushing and motivating factor for the athletes.

NCS general Secretary Bernard Ogwel, other Federation heads like Moses Muhangi (UBF) and Nasser Sserunjogi (FUBA) among others were in attendance.

USF President Donald Rukare congratulated the winners before he spoke about his next venture of NCS chairmanship.

Kirabo, a worth winner who beat Advice Meya and Selina Katumba, had a tremendous 2019 where she won two gold medals (50m freestyle and breaststroke) at the Africa Juniors.

Ambala beat Adnan Kabuye and Tendo Mukalazi but never attended the event as he is not in the country.

Complete List Of Winners

*Male swimmer of the year – Atuhaire Ambala
*Female swimmer of the year – Kirabo Namutebi
*Most inspirational swimmer of the year – Kunkundakwe Husinah
*Male Coach of the year – Muwanguzi Muzafar
*Female coach of the year – Cari Karugire
*Female Open water swimmer of the year – Ahura Ambala
*Male Open water swimmer of the year – Adnan Kabuye
*Waterpolo team of the year – Altona
*Primary school of the year – Greenhill Academy
*Secondary school of the year – Greenhill Academy
*Best club of the year – Dolphins swim club
*Female master swimmer of the year – Aya Nakitanda
*Male master swimmer of the year – Gilbert Kaburu



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *