Masaza Cup: Gomba Acquires Former Buddu Captain

Gomba county team has completed the signing of defender Nasser Lukwago ahead of the forthcoming Masaza Cup tournament.

Lukwago was the captain of Buddu last season as they finished fourth after falling 2-1 to Kyadondo in the losers match.

“I have left Buddu in peace,” Lukwago said after completing the move. “It’s a privilege for me to join a big team like Gomba and am hoping to win this season’s Masaza tournament.”

Coached by SC Villa’s assistant coach Ibrahim Kirya, Gomba have already acquired other players like goalkeeper Derrick Emmanuel Were.

Hussein Ssenoga, Bashir Lubinga, Richard Basangwa, Ibrahim Kasinde and Ponsiano Ssegonya are some of the other new additions at the team.

Gomba are targeting a fifth title after previous victories in 2004, 2009, 2014 and 2017.

However, it remains to be known whether the Masaza Cup will go on this year due to Covid19 pandemic.

Masaza Cup past winners

2019 – Bulemezi
2018 – Singo
2017 – Gomba
2016 – Buddu
2015 – Singo
2014 – Gomba
2013 – Mawokota
2012 – Bulemeezi
2011 – Buluri
2010 – Not Held
2009 – Gomba
2008 – Kyadondo
2007 – Mawokota
2006 – Kooki
2005 – Mawokota
2004 – Gomba

Leave a Response

%d bloggers like this: