Editor's Picks

Big League: Three Rounds Set For 2020/21 Season

The 2020/21 FUFA Big League season shall be played in two groups but with three rounds, FUFA has said.

Since the inaugural 2009/10 season, Uganda’s second tier has been played with two rounds (home and away) in both Elgon and Rwenzori groups.

FUFA Deputy CEO Decolas Kizza, in an interview with The-SportsNation said that the third round will be hosted by the best team over the first two rounds, as it is the case in FUFA Juniors League.

“The final round will be hosted by the team with the points/goal aggregate,” said Decolas.

“The third round will enable each team play 21 matches a season.”

Initially, teams have been playing 14 games in a season, excluding the teams that finish in the playoffs bracket.

Decolas added: “The number of teams in the 2nd division is 16; in line with the proposals made in March. The proposals and this decision (of third round) are in tandem.”

With kickoff dates tentatively set on October 29, 2020, the Deputy CEO revealed that the official (confirmed) dates will be announced just after Government lifts the lockdown on sports activities, “hopefully on Sunday.”

Last season, UPDF Football Club (Rwenzori) and MYDA Football Club (Elgon) sportingly qualified for the 1st division season 2020/2021.

The relegated clubs from Big League are Kansai Plascon, New Villa, Dove, Saviours, Light SS and Katwe United Football Club.

The play-offs for the remaining UPL slot will be between Kitara FC v Kataka FC and Kiboga Young FC v Ndejje University FC.

Maroons, Proline and Tooro United will play in Big League next season after they were relegated from the UPL last season.

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Advertisment
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: