African Duo In 11-man Shortlist For 2020 FIFA Best Award

Two African players have been listed for the Best FIFA Men’s player of the year 2020.

The 11-man shortlist has been revealed by FIFA on Wednesday ahead of the awards ceremony in Zurich on December 17, 2020.

The African players are Liverpool duo Sadio Mane (Senegal) and Mohammed Salah (Egypt).

Usual faces Lionel Messi and Christiano Ronaldo are also nominated, alongside big favourite Robert Lewandowski of Bayern Munich among others.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player of the year 2020 is based on respective achievements during the period between July 20 2019 to October 7 2020.

Both Mane and Salah won the Premier League and FIFA Club World Cup with Liverpool.

Salah won the Adidas Golden Ball at the Club World Cup and scored 19 league goals.

Mane on the other hand, scored 18 league goals and added seven assists.

Sadio Mane. FIFA

FIFA has handed out the award since 2016, formerly known as the FIFA World Player of the Year, which was merged with France Football’s Ballon d’Or in 2010 to become the FIFA Ballon d’Or in a six-year partnership.

Since 2016, only Salah has reached the podium (top three) – He came third behind eventual winner Luka Modric and runner up Cristiano Ronaldo in 2018.

Last year, Salah came fourth while Mane finished fifth with 26 and 23 votes respectively, as Messi won the top gong.

Voting to decide who will win, will be conducted by fans, Journalists, national team coaches and captains, per FIFA rules.

The three finalists will be revealed on December 11, 2020 which is after the end of public voting on December 9.

Mo Salah. FIFA

Beside the FIFA Men’s award, other categories include Best FIFA Women’s player, Men’s coach, Women’s coach, Men and women goalkeepers, among others.

The 11 Nominess For 2020 Best FIFA Men’s player:

  • Thiago Alcântara (Spain / FC Bayern München / Liverpool FC)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Juventus FC)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City FC)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Poland / FC Bayern München)
  • Sadio Mané (Senegal / Liverpool FC)
  • Kylian Mbappé (France / Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina / FC Barcelona)
  • Neymar (Brazil / Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Sergio Ramos (Spain / Real Madrid CF)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool FC )
  • Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands / Liverpool FC)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *