Ssenyonjo Continues Scoring Spree As KCCA Beat Mbarara

Friday, December 11
*KCCA FC 2-0 Mbarara City
*MYDA FC 2-3 Onduparaka
*Busoga United 1-1 Kyetume FC

Sam Ssenyonjo extended his scoring run in KCCA FC’s 2-0 victory against Mbarara City FC at MTN Omondi Stadium in Lugogo.

Iguma’s header was deflected in by Souleyman Bamba from Moses Aliro freekick to hand the hosts a slender lead at halftime.

Ssenyonjo pounced home to double the advantage from close range after Mbarara defence failed to clear from the corner.

Ssenyonjo who has scored in the club’s three opening games, takes his scoring tally to five goals.

The Kasasiro boys who lost Moses Aliro to injury, have now collected nine points from the three games to stay top of the Uganda Premier League table.

KCCA FC Overpower Ankole Lions

There was less to admire in the opening half before KCCA broke the deadlock in the 38th minute. Iguma’s header took a deflection off Bamba at near post from a well weighed Aliro freekick.

Aliro was later stretchered off hurt and replaced by Hassan Musana.

It was in the second half when the hosts asked many questions – Ssenyonjo headed wide while Brian Aheebwa was denied a keeper to beat.

Goalkeeper Mohammed Ssekeba also finger-tipped Ashraf Mugume’s rocket from a distance, the new KCCA FC midfielder was later named man of the match.

Mutebi’s worry will be the form of Juma Balinya who was taken off for Stefano Mazengo, with the former Police player yet to find the needed spark.

Mbarara City on the other hand, had their best chances fall to Bashir Mutanda who notably had an header rattle the crossbar.

The former Villa striker volleyed over and also had a powerful shot direct kept out by goalkeeper Charles Lukwago.

What Next – KCCA FC face SC Villa on December 15 in Bombo while Mbarara host Express FC at Kakyeka the following day.

Teams Used:

KCCA FC XI – Charles Lukwago, Denis Iguma, Peter Magambo, Herbert Achai, Samson Kigozi, Ashraf Musume, Moses Aliro, Keziron Kizito, Juma Balinya, Brian Aheebwa, Samuel Ssenyonjo.

Substitutes – Hassan Matovu, Samuel Kato, Hassan Musana, Charles Lwanga, Filbert Obenchan, Ali Mwirusi, Lorenzo Mazengo.

Mbarara City FC XI – Mohammed Ssekeba, Steven Othieno, Jasper Aheebwa, Hilary Mukundane, Soulyamane Bamba, Pistis Balenge, Solomon okwalinga, Raymond Onyai, Ivan Eyan, Bashir Mutanda,
Ronald Edwok.

Substitutes – Jackson Opio, John Adriko, Ramathan Karim, Ibrahim Magandanzi, Huud Salim, Ronald Otti, Douglas Oyirwoth,

%d bloggers like this: