Masaza Cup: Buddu Ease Past Ssese To Get Off The Mark

Wednesday, January 14
*Buddu 3-0 Ssese
*Gomba Vs Kabula – 3pm

Buddu sliced Ssese in their opening Masengere group game at the ongoing 2020 Masaza Cup.

Frank Ssebufu scored a brace and Martin Kavuma added the other strike as Buddu won 3-0 in a one-sided affair at FUFA Technical centre in Njeru.

Buddu players celebrate one of the goals. Masaza Cup media

Titus Ssematimba laid bare the Ssese defence including the goalkeeper before squaring down for Ssebufu who scored in an empty net at point blank range in the 41st minute.

Ssese had a chance to level matters before the break but Ivan Bukenya saw his penalty kick flapped out by goalkeeper Farouk Ssebanja.

Buddu doubled the advantage in the 70th minute when Marvin Kavuma strolled through the defence before slotting past a helpless goalkeeper.

Ssebufu put the icing on the cake in the 80th minute with a beauty – He was put through on goal and produced a dink that looped over the onrushing goalkeeper to find its way into the back of the net for the third goal.

Buddu will be hoping for a repeat of the 2016 edition where they beat Gomba to lift their maiden title.

Action at FUFA Technical Centre Njeru

Buddu proved too good on the day and could have won by a better scoreline: Ssebufu was denied by goalkeeper Fred Bukenya in a title angle who also kept our Emmanuel Mwesigwa’s attempt.

Buddu had a penalty appeal waived by referee Lucky Kasalirwe who called for an offside in the buildup to the foul.

Ssese had chances but failed to find a goal to their name with Denis Kalanzi heading over the bar from a well weighed cross.

Ssese players that started the Buddu game

Upcoming Fixtures

*Friday January 15th
Ssese vs Gomba – 12pm
Kabula vs Buddu – 3pm

*Sunday January 17th
Buddu vs Gomba – 9am
kabula vs Ssese – 12pm

Teams Used


Starting XI – Sebanjja Yawe Farouk, Namasa Edward, Muwawu Stephen, Kizza Angello, Ssengendo Sharif, Kavuma Marvin, Nsamba Fahad, Semugera Miisi Diego, Sematimba Titus, Mwesigwa Emmanuel, Sebuufu Frank.

Substitutes – Kibuule Obbon, Ssekayi Farouk, Kayondo Joseph


Starting XI – Bukenya Fred, Nsubuga Alex, Bukenya Ivan, Anyama Jerome, Masiga Ashiraf, Masereka Mubarak, Kirembeka Kenedy Ben, Kamoga Rashid Wasswa, Mukasa Francis, Kambugu Lawrence, Kalanzi Denis.

Substitutes – Okwera Moses, Bomboka Frank, Walusimbi Edrisa, Kaweesa Nicholas Sunday, Ssemakula George

Related posts

Uche Ikpeazu Mubiru Prefers Nigeria To Uganda After Boro Switch

Nelson Ssengooba

Esther Kwagala: Junior Gazelles Player Leaves For United States

Elizabeth Kisolo

SC Villa Deny URA In Bombo

Brian Kawalya

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

%d bloggers like this: