Uganda Cricket Cranes coach Lawrence Mahtlane has underlined the importance of the upcoming tour to Namibia.

The Cranes will face off with giants Namibia at a later date in April.

Mahatlane says that the tour will help the Cranes gauge themselves against one of the big guns in the game of Cricket.

Namibia is one of the three ODI status nations in Africa alongside South Africa and Zimbabwe.

“The tour will give us the opportunity to test our side against a quality international side,” Mahatlane said.

“They are already an ODI side and we need to know how to handle them and how to compete against the big teams. I believe we have the talent to compete in Namibia.

“Namibia is ahead of us in rankings but the way the boys have worked in training has really impressed me and its important we get a real test.”

Jonathan Kizza. Bata images

The Cranes have been training at Lugogo Cricket Oval for the past weeks where they have played a couple of trial games in 50 and 20 over formats.

On Thursday, Mahatlane named a 26-man squad for a residential camp in Entebbe that will start training on Monday.

Initially, the camp was to fine tune the team for the tour to the Division Two T20 Qualifiers in South Africa which have been postponed to November.

“We have been fortunate enough to get a tour to Namibia but its bigger than that for me, its about finding a way, vision and mission, and creating a system for the badge and understanding who we play for and we play the game,” Mahatlane added.

Ronak Patel, Shazad Kamal, Dinesh and Roger Mukasa have not made the squad, partly due to personal work commitments.

Mahatlane said that “I am very happy with balance of the team” and praised a 19-year old young seamer Pascal Murungi from Nyakasura.

Wicket Keeper Fred Achelam. UCA photo

The 26 Cricket Cranes Players Selected For Entebbe Camp

1.Otwani arnold
2.Hasahya Emmanuel
3.Ssesazi Simon
4.Ham Kayondo
5.Perry Wazombe
6.Masaba Brian
7.Kenneth Waiswa
8.Akankwasa Frank
9.Fred Acellam
10.Steven Wabwose
11.Riazat Shah
12.Olipa Rogers
13.Frank Nsubuga
14.Henry Senyondo
15.Gerald Mubiru
16.Derrick Bakunzi
17.Siraje Nsubuga
18.Jonathan Ssebanja
19.Jonathan Kizza
20.Cosmas Kyewuta
21.Trevor Bukenya
22.Pascal Murungi
23.Saud Islam
24.Karashani Davis
25.Deus Muhumuza
26.Harsh panchal


Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.

Leave A Reply