Editor's Picks

AFCON Qualifiers: Seven UPL Players Make Cranes Squad For Burkina Faso

Seven Uganda Premier League players have been included in the Uganda Cranes provisional squad to face Burkina Faso in the forthcoming 2021 AFCON Qualifiers.

The team was summoned on Friday morning by Cranes interim coach Abdallah Mubiru.

Charles Lukwago, Halid Lwaliwa, Juuko Murushid, Kizito Mugweri, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Ibrahim Orit and Yunus Ssentamu make the 31-man squad.

The game will be played on March 24 at St Mary’s Stadium in Kitende behind closed doors before visiting Malawi five days later.

The Burkina game will be officiated by Centre referee Papa Gassama and he will be assisted by fellow Gambians Bollel Jawo and Sulayman Sosseh as the first and second assistants.

Abdallah Mubiru, Livingston Mbabazi and Fred Kajoba will take over the reigns after Head coach Jonathan Mckinstry was given a one-month suspension.

The Cranes need two points to qualify for AFCON for a third straight edition.

Surprise Inclusion?

Whenever the national team is summoned, eyebrows are raised and this has not been anything short of that.

Daniel Isiagi and Mathias Kigonya headline the summoned squad, with the goalkeeper making the squad for the first time since 2016 thanks to his recent form with Azam FC in Tanzania.

Left back Mustafa Kizza has received his first senior competitive national team call up.

Hippos captain Gavin Kizito has been included thanks to his good display at the U20 AFCON Championship.

Defenders Bevis Mugabi and Timothy Awany and goalkeeper Denis Onyango have been summoned despite injury concerns.

Striker Derrick Nsibambi misses out while local-based players Brian Aheebwa, Karim Watambala, Dissan Galiwango, David Owori and Shafic Kagimu have been left out despite making the final squad against Burkina Faso.

Tonny Mawejje is sidelined due to injury while Jayden Onen has been ignored.

Cranes best player at CHAN Saidi Kyeyune and Hippos on-form forward Derrick Kakooza have not been considered.

Abdul Lumala has not played for over a year due to an injury but has been considered.

Full Squad summoned


Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal, Sudan), Charles Lukwago(KCCA FC-Uganda), Kigonya Mathias ( Azam FC- Tanzania)


Mugabi Bevis (Motherwell FC- Scotland), Kizza Mustapha (DC Montreal- USA), Ronald Mukiibi(Ostersunds FK, Sweden), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Timothy Denis Awany (Sport Club Ironi, Ashdod, Israel), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, Democratic Republic of Congo), Lwaliwa Halid (Vipers SC-Uganda), Elvis Bwomono (Southend United, England), Juuko Murushid (Express FC-Uganda), Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa- Uganda)


Miya Faruku (Konyaspor- Turkey), Kizito Luwagga (Hapoel Kfar Saba- Israel), Waiswa Moses (SupersportUnited-South Africa), Lwanga Taddeo (Simba SC- Tanzania), Michael Azira (New Mexixo United-, USA),Khalid Aucho (Misr Lel Makasa, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (El Gouna, Egypt), Allan Okello (Paradou,Algeria), Lumala Abdu (Pyramids FC- Egypt), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC-Uganda), Orit Ibrahim (Vipers SC-Uganda).


Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Ittihad Alexandria, Egypt), Fahad Bayo (Sport Club Ironi Ashdod, Israel), KadduPatrick (Youssoufia Berrechid-Tunisia), Uche Mubiru Ikpeazu (Wycombe Wanderers, England), SentamuYunus (Vipers SC-Uganda), Isiagi Daniel (Jomo Cosmos-South Africa).

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: