KCCA Thrash UPDF FC To Move Into 4th

Friday, March 05
MTN Omondi Stadium

KCCA FC thrashed UPDF FC by 6-1 in a League game played at the MTN Omondi Stadium on Friday.

Sadat Anaku and Charles Lwanga each netted a brace with Ashraf Mugume and an own goal by Bright Vuni completing the damage for the Kasasiros.

Brian Kayanja pulled one back for the visitors but his strike proved to be a mere consolation in the end.

Playing at home, KCCA enjoyed more of the possession from the first whistle with the army side playing second best.

As early as the 5th minute, in-form Anaku opened up his scoring after Gift Ali sent him through on goal, with the striker slotting past the helpless Yusuf Wasswa.

In the 14th minutes, defender Vuni connected into his own net to make it 2-0 off Moses Aliro’s cross.

Moments later, Mugume curled the third into the corner after collecting from Bright Anukani.

Anukani could have registered one onto his name, but he headed wide a well crafted cross from Anaku.

In the 23rd minutes, Lwanga headed in from close range to make it 4-0, netting from a cross by Obenchan.

The Kasasiro had more chances to score more before the break but missed from a one on one situation while Anaku saw an effort brash off the frame of the goal.

Kayanja pulled one back a few minutes to the break, slotting past Lukwago.

At the start of the second half, the Army side looked more composed making more runs in the final third but could not create enough to score again.

In the 69th minute, Lwanga who was impressive on the day netted the fifth for the home side with a powerful shot into the net after poor defending by the UPDF defence.

The best was saved for last as Anaku dinked over Wasswa for KCCA’s six and the seventh of the day.

The result see KCCA move to 23 points after 12 games played.

What next for both teams

KCCA will face Kyetume away from home while UPDF hosts Express at the Bombo Military stadium.

How they started


Charles Lukwago (GK), Philbert Obenchan, Peter Magambo, Herbert Achai, Ashraf Mugume, Moses Aliro, Gift Ali, Bright Anukani, Samson Kigozi, Charles Lwanga, Sadat Anaku


Waswa Yusuf (GK), Vuni Bright Joseph, Mubiru Isa, Mbazira Simon, Sekitoleko Denis, Thembo Ibrahim, Kintu Sam, Kalumba Brian,Kasirye Davis, Kayanja Brian, Wamannah Ibrahim.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *