Mwase Vows To Uplift Swimming As He Assumes Presidency

Newly elected Uganda Swimming Federation President Moses Mwase vows to uplift Swimming after assuming Presidency.

Mwase was on Saturday elected president of the Uganda Swimming Federation after his 28-14 victory over Peter Mugisha in the Federation’s Annual General Assembly held in MTN Arena in Lugogo.

He was the incumbent after replacing Dr Donald Rukare who had taken office at National Council of Sports.

“I am glad to have been given a new mandate by the assembly as President of Uganda Swimming Federation for the next four years, I would like to appreciate my colleagues and also the USF Assembly for the support,” said Mwase after he was declared the winner.

“I thank my colleague and friend Mr Peter Mugisha who was also vying for the same position, I have promised to reach out to him, get new ideas and see how we can serve our Federation better.”

Mwase said that his emphasis is on refining the Federation’s strategic plan as they seek to get a new direction.

He stated: “Some of the key things I would like us as a federation to do that should be part of the strategic plan is for us to demystify swimming, we want swimming to be a sport for all.

“We are writing a plan that is called swim for all swim for life and we would like this to be the springboard upon which we reach out to all countries, we like this to be part of the curriculum, be financially stable as a federation, have a new coaching curriculum for Uganda.

“We would like to have a long term athletes development plan, we would like to have a national aquatic centre, but also to encourage the development of aquatic centres in the country.”

Other members on the USF Executive assumed offices unopposed.

Full Uganda Swimming Federation Executive Committee:

*President – Moses B Mwase
*1st Vice President – Annette T Mwebeiha
*2nd Vice President – Tonnie Kasuja
*General Secretary – Albert S Wasswa
*Asst General Secretary – Max Kanyerezi
*Treasurer – Florence Nakakawa
*Asst Treasurer – Lillian Mugisha
*Committee Members – Dr. Nana Nakiddu
Jamila Lunkuse
Erick Kisero
Mary-Anne Isabirya
Peter Buvumbo

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Advertisment
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: