Wakiso Giants Hold UPDF To Record 10th Draw

Tuesday, March 16
*Police 0-1 Express
*UPDF 0-0 Wakiso Giants

Nothing could separate hosts UPDF FC and Wakiso Giants as the sides played out a goalless draw in a league game played at Bombo Military Barracks ground.

This is the 10th draw for the Purple Sharks and first for UPDF FC as both sides ended the first round on a quiet note.

The match was affected by rain as a heavy downpour delayed kickoff.

Wakiso Giants started the game with high tempo pressing the hosts but with limited chances in the opponents box who were organized defensively.

UPDF however came closest in the 18th minute when left back Isa Mubiru hit the woodwork after Samson Kirya punched Brian Kayanja’s long range freekick.

Goalkeeper Kirya was again called into action by Kayanja from the freekick which he played safe just at the end of first half.

Wakiso Giants winger Pius Kaggwa brought in a decent cross into the box which was mishandled by the goalkeeper but UPDF defender Vuni Bright Joseph cleared away from danger.

Kayanja tapped wide a cross from Right Back James Begesa after beating the offside trap.

UPDF continued creating chances but Goalkeeper Kirya was alert to save another cross from Kalumba.

With 75 minutes into the game, Wakiso Giants striker Vianne Sekajugo got away from a UPDF defender to lay in a beautiful cross in a congested box but was successfully cleared away by left back Isa Mubiru.

UPDF had a chance to win it with 5 minutes left on the clock but substitute Kasirye Brian mistimed his shot after a nice dummy from Brian Kalumba.

UPDF finishes the first round in the 6th position with 25 points winning eight matches, 6 loses and drawing one in 15 matches.

Wakiso Giants on the other side are 11th on the log with 2 wins, 3 loses and drawing their 10th match out of 15 they played in the first round.

Both teams will go for a short break as they are waiting for the second round.

Players Used:

UPDF – Eric Kibowa, James Begesa, Isa Mubiru, Vuni Bright Joseph, Denis Ssekitoreko, Sam Kintu, Ibrahim Wammanah, Ezekiel Katende, Brian Kalumba, Robert Eseru, Brian Kayanja.

Wakiso Giants – Samson Kirya, Atendele Geriga, Alex Komakech, Wasswa Hassan, Fahad Kawooya, Hassan Senyonjo, Ibrahim Kasule Owen, Tom Matsiko, Pius Kaggwa, Vianne Sekajugo, Ivan Bogere

× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: