Editor's Pickslatest

Lumala, Juuko Start As Mubiru Names Cranes XI To Face Burkina Faso

AFCON Qualifiers
Uganda vs Burkina Faso
St. Mary’s Stadium, Kitende
Wednesday, 24-03-2021

Abdu Lumala will make his home debut for the Uganda Cranes when they face Burkna Faso at Kitende on Wednesday afternoon.

The winger who first featured for Uganda at the 2019 AFCON finals in Egypt has not featured for the team at home due to injuries that have seen him on the side lines for a while.

However, he will now start in what looks like a 4:2:3:1 formation alongside Emmanuel Okwi and Faruku Miya as the three players trusted to play behind striker Patrick Kaddu who has received the nose ahead of Fahad Bayo.

With Timothy Awayi, just like Bayo-arriving on Tuesday and not taking part in any of the training sessions ahead of the game, Murushid Juuko has been trusted to be part of a four-man back line which also features Vipers SC captain Halid Lwaliwa, Nicholas Wadada and Joseph Ochaya.

Juuko has been in and out of the Cranes set up since the AFCON finals in Egypt and after a while out without a club, he rejuvenated himself at Express FC where he has so far impressed in the opening round of the 2020/21 Uganda Premier League season.

In the absence of Khalid Aucho, Tadeo Lwanga starts as one of two blockers in the team, alongside Mike Azira.

Uganda who start the day in second spot in the group B standings require two draws in their final two games to seal a spot at next year’s finals.

The Cranes are under the stewardship of Abdallah Mubiru who was put in temporary charge with Johnathan McKinstry currently suspended.

The other group B game will see Malawi face South Sudan in Kenya.

How the Cranes will line up against Burkina Faso

Denis Onyango (GK), Nicholas Wadada, Joseph Ochaya, Murushid Juuko, Halid Lwaliwa, Mike Azira, Tadeo Lwanga, Abdu Lumala, Faruku Miya, Emmanuel Okwi, Patrick Kaddu.


Jamal Salim (GK), Charles Lukwago (GK), Elvis Bwomono, Mustapha Kizza, Allan Okello, Moses Waiswa, Ibrahim Orit, Yunus Ssentamu,Fahad Bayo, Kizito Luwagga, Daniel Isiagi, Mathais Kigonya (GK), Timothy Awanyi, Allan Kyambadde, Gavin Kizito, Bobosi Byaruhanga.

× Advertisment
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: