Uganda Cup: KCCA FC Edge Nyamityobora In Six Goal Thriller 

Wednesday, April 7th
KCCA FC 4-2 Nyamityobora FC

Uganda Premier League side KCCA FC beat Nyamityobora FC 4-2 in their first-leg round of 32 Uganda Cup game at the Omondi Stadium in Lugogo on Wednesday, April 07.

First half goals from Bright Anukani, Julius Poloto and Sadat Anaku put the hosts on their way to victory before Sam Ssenyonjo added a fourth in the second half.

Nyamityobora FC captain Clinton scored a brace in either half for the Big League side.

Anukani gave hosts an early lead inside just 3minutes of play, curling an effort into the back of the net from inside the area.

Six minutes later, on his second game since return from a long lay-off, Poloto doubled KCCA’s lead with a sole run beating the Nyamityobora defence before slotting home.

With just 22minutes off the clock, Kamugisha brought hope back to the Nyamityobora faithful, striking in past Charles Lukwago thanks to Ivan Ahimbisibwe set-up.

Onform Charles Lwanga only saw his header rattle the crossbar off Julius Poloto cross as KCCA FC pushed for the third.

Playing from the right flank, Forward Sadat Anaku reserved time to score the third for KCCA from outside the box with Ashraf Mugume assisting.

A highly rejuvenated Nyamityobora, at the start of the second half, saw Kamugisha complete his brace 5 minutes to the hour mark off a lose ball from Lukwago.

Forward Samuel Ssenyonjo got pressure off KCCA with just 5 minutes to the fulltime whistle heading in from Kizza Joseph Bukenya’s corner.

Both team meet on Saturday for the return leg at the Kakyeka Stadium in Mbarara.

Nyamityobora need a win of at least 2 goals and above to advance to the round of 16.

Proline FC are the current Uganda cup holders.

Team Starters


Charles Lukwago(GK), Herbert Achai, Peter Magambo, Samuel Kato, Philbert Obenchan, Dennis Iguma, Bright Anukani, Sadat Anaku Happy, Charles Lwanga, Julius Poloto

Nyamityobora FC

Tom Musinguzi (GK), Wahab Lwanga, Hussien Kato, Abraham Siima, Augustine Walusimbi, Sharif Kyandiga, Clinton Kamugisha, Martin Arinaitwe, Ivan Ahimbisibwe, Muhammad Matovu, Gerald Kimuli



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *