CAF Champions League: The Eight Teams In Quarterfinal

The 2021 CAF Champions League quarterfinal puzzle has been completed after the final round of the group stage games over the weekend.

South Africa’s Kaizer Chiefs and Algeria’s MC Alger squeezed through the window on the last day.

There is no place for last year’s runners up Zamalek and five-time winners TP Mazembe.

The CECAFA region has been represented by Tanzania’s Simba SC who went through with a game to spare and ended as group A winners with 13 points.

Zamalek’s 4-1 win against Senegal’s Teungueth was in vain thanks to MC Alger’s 1-1 draw at Esperance.

Kaizer’s was tricky, as they staged a late comeback to draw Guinea’s Horoya in a winner takes it all contest in Conakry.

The Quarterfinals will be played between May 14 to May 22. Semis are for June 18-26 and the final will be played on 17 July 2021 at a venue to be announced.

In the draw for the quarter-finals, the four group winners are seeded, and the four group runners-up are unseeded.

The seeded teams are drawn against the unseeded teams, with the seeded teams hosting the second leg. Teams from the same group cannot be drawn against each other, while teams from the same association can be drawn against each other (in this case, South African two sides Kaizer Sundowns can meet at the quarter).

The Eight Teams In 2021 CAF Champions League Quarterfinal.

The Top Seeded Teams, Group Winners – Simba (Tanzania), Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), Wydad Casablanca (Morocco) and ES Tunis (Tunisia).

The Unseeded – Al Ahly (Egypt), CR Belouizdad (Algeria), Kaizer Chiefs (South Africa), MC Alger (Algeria).

Group Standings:

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Advertisment
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: