Uganda Cup: Four UPL Clubs Out, Leading Scorers Revealed

Four top flight teams were knocked out of the ongoing 2021 Stanbic Uganda Cup following the conclusion of the Round of 32.

The four UPL sides are Busoga United, Mbarara City, Kyetume and MYDA – Coincidentally, the quartet sit in the bottom half of the Uganda Premier League log.

Of the four, MYDA was knocked out FUFA Big League side Proline FC who are the defending champions.

Busoga United couldn’t get past Vipers, Express outmuscled Kyetume in a close contest while Mbarara City were ousted by URA FC.

15 of 16 games were played, with Kitara FC Vs Kigezi game postponed. The first leg was not honored after poor communication about match-day venue.

Of the 15 games, only one necessitated penalty shootout – Mbale Heroes shot out Gaddafi FC after the scores were level on aggregate.

Police FC were the biggest winners, knocking out Calvary FC with a 10-1 aggregate.

SC Villa, Bright Stars, UPDF FC and Tooro United reached the round of 16 despite losing their respective first legs.

Police FC, KCCA, Wakiso Giants, BUL and Vipers strolled through after winning both (home and away) ties.

The teams that were knocked out at the round of 32, will each earn Sh1.5m.

The 15 teams so far, at the round of 16, are already guaranteed of a minimum of Sh3m each as prize money from Cup sponsors Stanbic and Plascon paints.

The winner, at the final to be played on July 24 at a yet to be named venue, will bank Sh50m.

It should be noted that this year’s Cup is competed for by only UPL and Big League clubs. The tourney is being played on a home and away basis until the final.

Wakiso Giants midfielder Tom Masiko is the leading scorer with three goals.

The Stanbic Uganda Cup Round Of 32

*SC Villa beat Ndejje University 4-1 on aggregate
1st Leg: Villa 0-1 Ndejje
2nd Leg: Ndejje 1-3 Villa

*Maroons beat Terrazzo and Tiles 7-1 on aggregate
1st Leg: Terrazo 1-1 Maroons
2nd Leg: Maroons 6-0 Terrazo

*Onduparaka beat Luwero United 1-0 on aggregate
1st Leg: Onduparaka 0-0 Luwero
2nd Leg: Luwero 0-1 Onduparaka

*Vipers beat Busoga United 5-1 on aggregate
1st Leg: Vipers 3-0 Busoga
2nd Leg: Busoga 1-2 Vipers

*BUL beat Black Power FC 5-1 on aggregate
1st Leg: Black Power 0-2 BUL
2nd Leg: BUL 3-1 Black Power

*Wakiso Giants beat Water FC 5-2 on aggregate
1st Leg: Water 1-2 Wakiso
2nd Leg: Wakiso 3-1 Water

*Police FC beat Calvary FC 10-1 on aggregate
1st Leg: Police 5-0 Calvary
2nd Leg: Calvary 1-5 Police

*Proline FC beat MYDA FC 5-4 on aggregate
1st Leg: Proline 4-1 MYDA
2nd Leg: MYDA 3-1 Proline

*Mbale Heroes beat Gaddafi FC 4-2 on penalties
1st Leg: Gaddafi 1-0 Mbale
2nd Leg: Mbale 1-0 Gaddafi

*Express beat Kyetume 3-2 on aggregate
1st Leg: Kyetume 2-2 Express
2nd Leg: Express 1-0 Kyetume

*Tooro United beat Kataka FC 3-2 on aggregate
1st Leg: Kataka 1-0 Tooro
2nd Leg: Tooro 3-1 Kataka

*URA FC beat Mbarara City 1-0 on aggregate
1st Leg: URA 0-0 Mbarara
2nd Leg: Mbarara 0-1 URA

*Bright Stars beat Paidha Black Angels 3-2 on aggregate
1st Leg: Paidha 1-0 Bright Stars
2nd Leg: Bright Stars 3-1 Paidha

*UPDF beat Arua Hill 3-3 on away goals rule.
1st Leg: Arua 3-2 UPDF
2nd Leg: UPDF 1-0 Arua

*KCCA beat Nyamityobora 5-2 on aggregate
1st Leg: KCCA 4-2 Nyamityobora
2nd Leg: Nyamityobora 0-1 KCCA

*Kitara Vs Kigezi
1st Leg:
2nd Leg:

Leading goalscorers:

*Three goals
Tom Matsiko (Wakiso Giants)

*Two goals
Caesar Manzoki (Vipers)
Simon Peter Okech (BUL)
William Kiibi (Water FC)
Muwadda Mawejje (Police)
Herman Wasswa (Police)
Samuel Ssekamatte (Bright Stars)
Alex Kitata (UPDF)
Clinton Kamugisha (Nyamityobora)

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Advertisment
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: