Bright Stars Ease Past Hapless MYDA

Uganda Premier League
Saturday, 17th April
-Express 1-1 Mbarara City
-Busoga United 2-1 Police FC
-UPDF 4-2 Kyetume
-Wakiso Giants 2-0 Onduparaka
-MYDA FC 0-3 Soltillo Bright Stars.

Soltillo Bright Stars completed a double over relegation threatened MYDA FC at the King George memorial stadium in Tororo.

In the First round, Bright Stars overcame the Tororo based side in a five goal thriller. The hosts won the match 3-2 at Kavumba Recreation Ground.

Goals from Akandwanaho Joseph, Joseph Janjali and Sam Ssekamatte were enough to give Soltillo Bright Stars a deserved victory at the King George memorial stadium.

The hosts completed the match with Ten men after former KCCA defender Paul Musamali was shown red card in the 78th minutes.

The visitors opened the scoring as early as the 3rd minute through Akandwanaho.

In search for an equaliser the hosts got a free kick on the edge of the box after Mpata Rashid was fouled but Mutebi Eric resultant effort went wide.

Neither the hosts nor the visitors added another goal in the first half.

Five minutes into the second half, Janjali doubled the visitors lead.

MYDA FC had a chance to pull one back from the spot but Mpata’s penalty was saved by Bright Stars Goalkeeper Tamale Simon.

In the 63rd minutes Samuel Ssekamatte made it three for Bright Stars, ensuring that the visitors walk away with all the points.

MYDA FC sits 15th on the log with 6 points just one above bottom side Kitara FC.

Bright Stars on the other side is 8th with 26 points.

What next for both teams.

On the Match day 19 of the Uganda Premier League, MYDA FC will travel to Onduparaka at the Greenlight Stadium in Arua on Tuesday 20th April while on the same day, Bright Stars will welcome Express at Kavumba Recreation Ground.

How both teams started


Osikol Isaac, Bassi Mark, Etoju Amos, Kirya Amos, Mafabi Isma, Mpata Rashid, Muledhu Faisal, Paul Musamali, Mutebi Eric, Mutebi Peter, Okello Stephen.

Soltillo Bright Stars

Tamale Simon, Buule Warren, Andrew Kaggawa, Andy Kyambadde, Derrick Kigundu, Marvin Joseph, Samuel Ssekamatte, Akandwanaho Joseph, Joseph Janjali, Ssemayenge Simon.

× Advertisment
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: