Wednesday, May 5th
*KCCA FC 3-0 Maroons
(KCCA win 5-0 on aggregate)

Juma Balinya finally scored his first goal in KCCA FC colours as the Lugogo-based side eased past Maroons in Uganda Cup round of 16 return leg.

The attacking midfielder, off the bench to replace Sadat Anaku in the 58th minute, slotted home the third goal in added time to put the game far beyond Maroons reach.

Balinya had failed to hit the ground running since joining KCCA in September last year after unsuccessful stints with Young Africans (Tanzania) and Gor Mahia (Kenya).

The 2018/19 UPL top scorer with Police, will hope that this is the first of many.

Anaku and Steven Sserwadda had scored a goal in the first half as the Startimes Uganda Premier League side proved too superior for FUFA Big League side Maroons.

KCCA win the tie 5-0 on aggregate having won 2-0 at Luzira Prisons ground last week in the first meeting.

Maroons FC have now gone six games winless in all competitions to pile more pressure on head coach Charles Ayiekho ahead of return of Big League second round.

As it was at Luzira, Maroons once again missed from the spot with Derrick Mudali sending his kick onto the woodwork.

Forward Anaku put KCCA FC ahead inside six minutes of play after beating goalkeeper Eric Daira.

Samson Kigozi nearly doubled the lead for the hosts only to be denied by Isma Kawawulo off the line after Gift Ali’s powerful strike hit the crossbar.

With 32 minutes off the clock, Sserwadda doubled KCCA FC’s lead tapping in from a Kigozi low pass inside the box.

Forward Balinya put icing on the cake when he slotted home the third for the hosts in the two added minutes, for his first goal for the club.

KCCA FC, joint Uganda Cup record holders with Express FC at 10 trophies, will fancy their chances in a competition they last won two seasons back.

Morley Byekwaso side will now turn focus to the Uganda Premier League where they will host rivals Vipers on Sunday.

Teams Used

KCCA FC – Charles Lukwago (GK), Musa Ramathan, Hassan Jurua, Hassan Musana, Peter Magambo, Dennis Iguma, Gift Ali Abubaker, Steven Sserwadda, Samson Kigozi, Sadat Anaku, Herbert Achai

Maroons FC – Eric Dahira (GK), Isma Kawawulo, Ramadan Shammary, Vincent Zziwa, Ronald Orombi, Patrick Bayiga, David Ndihabwe, Samuel Omara, Musa Ssali, Pius Obuya, Joel Ogwang


Leave A Reply