Wakiso Giants Thump UPDF For Five At Wakissha

Uganda Premier League
Friday, May 7th
-Wakiso Giants 5-1 UPDF FC
-URA FC 3-1 Onduparaka
-MYDA FC 2-2 Kyetume

Wakiso Giants humbled UPDF 5-1 in a Uganda Premier League game played at the Kabaka Kyabaggu Stadium on Friday.

Forward Ivan Bogere scored a brace while Joshua Lubwama, Frank Ssebuufu and Viane Ssekajugo netted a goal each to ensure victory for Douglas Bamweyana’s side.

Hassan Zzinda’s late goal only turned out to be a consolation for the visitors.

Hosts Wakiso Giants started brightly and were on the offensive early.

Midfielder Joshua Lubwama broke the deadlock after five minutes from the penalty spot after Viane Ssekajugo was brought down in the area by Brian Kayanja.

Frank Ssebuufu nearly scored the second for the hosts only to be denied by Bernard Muwanga

Brian Kayanja came close to leveling for the visitors only to shoot straight at Samson Kirya while through on goal.

With 15 minutes played, Wakiso doubled their lead as Bogere pounced onto a loose ball in the area to poke home through a forest of legs.

Four minutes to the break, Ssebuufu rose highest to node home the third off George Kaddu’s long throw-in.

At the stroke of halftime, Bogere raced onto a long ball before rounding Yusuf Wasswa and firing into the top corner for the fourth.

Wakiso continued to create chances but their front line could not put the chances away.

The fifth finally came on 70 minutes as Ssekajugo pounced onto a rebound after Wasswa had saved from Bogere.

Zzinda netted UPDF’s consolation with 17 minutes to play, striking into the bottom corner past the out-stretched Kirya.

This is Wakiso’s fifth victory of the season and it sees them climb into 9th with 26 points.

For UPDF, they stay in 6th with 32 points from 22 matches.

In their next fixtures, Wakiso Giants play away to Busoga United while UPDF FC host MYDA FC.

Teams Used

Wakiso Giants FC

Samson Kirya (GK), Geriga Atendele, Hassan Wasswa, George Kaddu, Fahad Kawooya, Joshua Lubwama, Hassan Ssenyonjo, Rahmat Ssenfuka, Ivan Bogere, Frank Ssebuufu, Viane Ssekajugo.


Yusuf Wasswa (GK), James Begisa, Isa Mubiru, Joseph Vuni, Bernard Muwanga, Sam Kintu, Brian Kayanja, Charles Ssebutinde, Ezekiel Katende, Sheif Batte, Alex Kitatta.

× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: