Editor's PicksRugby

Betway KOBs Scrape Past Pirates To Win League Unbeaten

Saturday, May 8
*Betway KOBs 15-05 Black Pirates
*Hippos 25-11 Mongers
*Heathens 45-10 Rhinos
*Impis O6-00 Rams
*Buffaloes 17-05 Warriors

Betway KOBs ended their four-year wait as they managed to overcome resilient Black Pirates to clinch this season’s Nile Stout Rugby Premiership title.

In a decisive encounter at a muddy Legends on Saturday, KOBs squeezed a 15-05 for their ninth win from as many games to end the shortened season unbeaten.

Alhaji Manano and Derrick Tuwasibwe scored the team’s tries while James Ijongat added the rest of the points with the boot.

Haruna Mohamed scored Pirates only Try of the game.

“We capitalised on territory and used the few chances that we got,” said an excited Betway KOBs coach Davis Kyewalabye after the win.

“Everybody wanted it. Much as we did not open up to play the fancy Rugby we play, the intent to win the game was there. The boys wanted to get points and which they did.”

Pirates captain Ivan Magomu briefly blamed the muddy pitch for the result before commending his boys for the fight.

KOBs recieved Sh10m as a token of appreciation from main sponsor Betway Uganda. Country manager Adelle Agaba (left). KOBs media photo

KOBs Deserved Champions

KOBs beat Rhinos 51-00 in the opener at King’s Park in Bweyogerere to make their intents known early.

They beat Warriors 55-09 at Legends the following week and never looked back.

There were below par against Hippos in Jinja and against Heathens but squeezed out victories despite missing a bonus point in both games.

But then again, even on their bad days, they got a needed result.

In the build up to Saturday’s decider, they slashed Impis 91-00, their biggest league victory in recent memory.

They end the season with only two tries conceded, but most importantly unbeaten.

In a game of nerves, James Ijongat went for point but fluffed both penalties in the opening exchanges.

Manano later drew first blood when he chased on his kick to crash over. Pirates contested, claiming that the KOBs outside centre grounded the ball when it had already gone out of the in-goal area. However, Referee Sauda Adiru was convinced that the try was legit and she upheld her decision. Ijongat split the uprights to send KOBs seven up.

Pirates sent their two back to back penalties wide – William Nkore and Conrad Wanyama the guilty parties.

Haruna Mohamed crossed the line while Magomu missed his conversion as Pirates drew closer.

In the second half, KOBs were excellent but it was until Ijongat converted his penalty when KOBs looked on course for title.

Tukwasiibwe sent off the roof at Legends with a late try, coming after KOBs had camped in Pirates area for some good minutes. And it proved a little late for Pirates to mount a comeback before the final whistle was greeted with a huge uproar from KOBs fans.

Past Winners:

1990 – KOBs
1991 – Heathens
1992 – Heathens
1993 – Heathens
1994 – Not held
1995 – KOBs
1996 – Impis
1997 – KOBs
1998 – KOBs
1999 – KOBs
2000 – KOBs
2001 – KOBs
2002 – Heathens
2003 – KOBs
2004 – Heathens
2005 – Heathens
2006 – KOBs
2007 – KOBs
2008 – KOBs
2009 – Heathens
2010 – Heathens
2011 – Heathens
2012 – Heathens
2013 – Heathens
2014 – KOBs
2015 – Heathens
2016 – KOBs
2017 – Heathens
2018 – Pirates
2019 – Heathens
2020 – Heathens
2021 – KOBs

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: