Mutanda Late Strike See Mbarara City Scrap Past Onduparaka At Kakyeka

Mbarara City 2-1 Onduparaka FC
May 15th/2021
Kakyeka Stadium, Mbarara

Bashir Mutanda struck a stoppage time winner as his side Mbarara City overcame Onduparaka FC 2-1 in a league game played at the Kakyeka Stadium on Saturday.

Mutanda, who came off the bench in the second half scored in added time to add on another second half strike by Henry Kitegenyi.

Living Kabon had earlier levelled matters for the Caterpillars late in the second half.

In the early exchanges, the hosts looked a better side and were first to threaten inside seven minutes, but Jude Ssemugabi’s effort was cleared off the line.

Moments later, Kitegenyi thought he had put Mbarara ahead but his effort was ruled out for offside.

Despite the half time ending goalless, both teams had chances to score but both failed to convert from a spot.

First, Solomon Okwalinga missed on 24th minute after goalkeeper Michael Kagiri’s foul in area then Kabon could only find the cross bar from 12 feet.

In the 58th minute, Semugabi rose highest to set up Kitegenyi who-in-turn made no mistake to slot in the first goal for the Ankole Lions.

With 11 minutes left on the clock, Kabon levelled matters for the visitors scoring from a direct free-kick.

Onduparaka thought they had snatched a point on the day, but Mutanda who replaced Okwalinga, in the second half, struck in added time with a powerful shot that found it’s way into the back of the net.

Victory sees Mbarara City move to the 10th place with 29 points.

For Onduparaka, they drop to 12th position and stay on 26 points with six games to play.

What next for Both Teams

Mbarara take a trip to St. Mary’s Stadium in Kitende to face Vipers on Tuesday while Onduparaka host Solitilo Bright Stars in Arua on the same day.

Team Starters

Mbarara City FC

Mohammad Ssekeba (GK), Innocent Wafula, Otti, Ibrahim Magandaazi , Karim Ramathan , Pistis Barenge, Ivan Eyam, Jude Ssemugabi, Bebe Swalik, Solomon Okwalinga, Henry Kitegenyi

Onduparaka FC

Kagiri Micheal (GK), Allan Busobozi, Magombe Hakim, Derrick Ochen, Najib Tusaba, Andama Denis, Mahdi Ajobe, Gibson Adinho, Matata Gabriel, Kabob Living, Emmanuel Okech.

× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: