Uganda Cup: Express, KCCA Share Spoils In Last 8 First Leg At Wankulukuku

Uganda Cup
Express FC 0-0 KCCA FC
Wankulukuku Stadium
Wednesday, May 26

Express and KCCA played out a 0-0 draw in their Uganda Cup quarter final first leg at Wankulukuku on Wednesday.

The two sides who have won the competition a record 10-times each could not be separated in an extremely competitive contest.

Express looked the better side especially in the first half but save for the early pressure, Isa Lumu’s goal-bound effort which was cleared off the line by Musa Ramathan was their only telling effort.

The Red Eagles who came into the game on a five-game winning run, created better opportunities in the second half only to be denied but excellent defending.

Peter Magambo twice blocked Kambale’s goal bound efforts before the striker headed wide from Denis Mubuya’s cross.

Kamable who has netted 15 league goals this campaign came close again but his free kick which looked to be headed for the back of the net was excellently pushed away for a fruitless corner by goalkeeper Charles Lukwago.

The shot stopper was called into one more time, late in the game, as he threw his body at Martin Kizza’s effort before Denis Iguma cleared off the line.

For KCCA, they found it hard to break down an organized Express back-line with Charles Lwanga’s runs down the channel their only hope for inspiration.

The former SC Villa striker headed wide from Juma Balinya’s cross in what was KCCA’s only telling sniff on goal all afternoon.

The inspiring performance from the likes of Steven Sserwadda, Ashraf Mugume and Peter Magambo will give then hope that they can take care of the second leg at their own patch.

The draw means that the two sides will have it all to play for in the second leg at Lugogo next week.

How both teams started

Express FC

Mathais Muwanga (GK), Enock Walusimbi, Murushid Juuko, Isa Lumu, Arthur Kiggundu, Mahad Yaya, Daniel Shabena, Charles Musiige, Godfrey Lwesibawa, Eric Kambale, Martin Kizza.


Charles Lukwago (GK), Musa Ramathan, Denis Iguma, Peter Magambo, Moses Aliro, Gift Ali, Hassan Musana, Ashraf Mugume, Steven Sserwadda, Herbert Achai, Charles Lwanga.

× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: