PSL Awards: Onyango Wins Best Goalkeeper, Full List Revealed

Mamelodi Sundowns shot stopper Denis Masinde Onyango has been named the League’s best Goalkeeper at the DStv PSL Awards.

The awards that seek to recognise the best performers in South Africa’s top flight division – Premier Soccer League were issued out on Sunday evening.

Onyango was a deserved winner after keeping 15 clean sheets to help Mamelodi Sundowns claim the league title.

He beat Sifiso Mlungwana (Golden Arrows) and Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu) to the award by Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United) last season.

The retired Cranes goalkeeper also won this accolade in the 2015/16 season.

His Sundowns teammate, striker Peter Shalulile, was the biggest winner after clinching both the 2020/21 PSL Footballer of the Season and DStv Premiership Player’s Player of the Season awards.

AmaZulu FC coach, Benni McCarthy, was voted the DStv Premiership Coach of the Season after guiding Usuthu to second place in the DStv Premiership, their highest ever finish in the league.

Full List Of Winners

*PSL Footballer of the Season
-Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns)

*DStv Premiership Player’s Player of the Season
-Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns)

*DStv Premiership Coach of the Season
-Benni McCarthy (AmaZulu FC)
*DStv Premiership Young Player of the Season (under 21)
-Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC)

*DStv Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season
-Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns)

*DStv Premiership Defender of the Season
-Njabulo Ngcobo (Swallows FC)

*DStv Premiership Midfielder of the Season
-Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

*DStv Premiership Goal of the season
-Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United)

*DStv Premiership Top Goalscorer:
-Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United)- 16 Goals

*MTN8 Last Man Standing

  • Deon Hotto (Orlando Pirates)

*Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player (Under 23)
-Khanyisa Mayo (Richards Bay)

*Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament
-Washington Arubi (Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila)

*DStv Diski Challenge Rewired Player of the Tournament
-Siyanda Nyanga (Mamelodi Sundowns)

*DStv Diski Challenge Rewired Top Goal Scorer/s
-Taahir Goedeman (Cape Town City)- 6 goals
-Kamohelo Hoala (Kaizer Chiefs)- 6 goals
-Asanda Buthelezi (Maritzburg United) – 6 goals
-Boitumelo Radiopane (Orlando Pirates)- 6 goals

-Isilo Samabandla, King Goodwill Zwelithini KaBhekuzulu
-General Bantu Holomisa

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: