CAF Reveals 12 Countries To Have Two Clubs In 2021/22 Interclub Competitions

Confederation of African Football (CAF) has revealed the 12 countries allowed to engage two clubs in the CAF Champions League and Confederation Cup for the 2021/22 season.

The football governing body on the continent says that these are the 12 highest ranked national associations.

The CAF Member Associations (MA) ranking is based on the performance of the MA’s representatives in the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup over a five-year period.

The top 12 MA’s are eligible to engage two teams each in the two club competitions for the concerned season.

  1. Algeria
  2. Angola
  3. DR Congo
  4. Egypt
  5. Guinea
  6. Morocco
  7. Nigeria
  8. South Africa
  9. Sudan
  10. Tanzania
  11. Tunisia
  12. Zambia

Tanzania is the new entrant, replacing Libya, thanks partly to the run made by Simba SC in this year’s CAF Champions League after the Mainland giants reached the quarterfinals.

This means that Uganda will still have one slot at each of the interclub competitions.

Last season, none of the countries representatives (Vipers – CAF CL, KCCA – CAF CC) reached the group stages of the competitions.

The regulatory deadline to submit engagement requests for each countries’ representative is June 30.

The first legs for the 1st Preliminary round is due 10-12 September this year while the group stage matches will kickoff in February next year.

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Advertisment
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: