Raja Casablanca Crowned CAF Confederation Cup Champions

Raja banks the prize money of 1.25 million US $

Sunday, July 11
*Raja Casablanca (Morocco) 2-1 JS Kabylie (Algeria)

Ten-man Moroccan side Raja Casablanca endured late flurry of attacks from Algeria’s JS Kabylie to win 2020/21 CAF confederation Cup in a thrilling Saturday final.

After a decent start that saw the Moroccan lead two-up, Raja had to play the last 30 minutes a man down but managed to hold on at Stade de l’Amitie, General Mathieu Kerekou in Cotonou, Benin.

Soufiane Rahimi and Ben Malango put Raja in an early lead before Kabylie halved the deficit at the start of the second half through Zakaria Boulahia.

Raja were reduced to ten men after Omar Arjoune was sent off in the 63rd minute.

Ben Malango celebrates scoring the second. Raja photo

The hard fought victory means that Raja has won their second CAF Confederation Cup – They won their first in 2018 when they beat AS Vita 4-3 on aggregate.

This was their first final for the Algerian side and they will hope that its the first of many.

CS Sfaxien of Tunisia have won the most CAF Confederation Cup with three, while Raja join Etoile Du Sahel and TP Mazembe on two each.

Raja banks the prize money of 1.25 million US $ and will have a place in the 2021 CAF Super Cup where they will face the winners of the 2020-21 TotalEnergies CAF Champions League.

Past Winners
2004 – Hearts of Oak (Ghana)
2005 – FAR Rabat (Morocco)
2006 – Etoile Du Sahel (Tunisia)
2007 – CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
2008 – CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
2009 – Stade Malien (Mali)
2010 – FUS Rabat (Tunisia)
2011 – Magreb Fez (Morocco)
2012 – AC Leopards (Congo)
2013 – CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
2014 – Al Ahly (Egypt)
2015 – Etoile Du Sahel (Tunisia)
2016 – TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
2017 – TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
2018 – Raja Casablanca (Morocco)
2018/2019 – Zamalek (Egypt)
2019/20 – RS Berkane (Morocco)
2020/21 – Raja Casablanca (Morocco)

Brian Kawalya

Brian Kawalya

Chief Sports Writer
Brian Kawalya is an Award winning Journalist, Director and Chief Sports Writer of The-SportsNation, covering top events and breaking some of the biggest stories.
× Advertisment
× Have a story?
%d bloggers like this: