Masaza Cup: Mawogola Unveils New Head Coach


Mawogola Ssaza Football Team have unveiled new head coach Magaasi Jamadah ahead of the new season of the 2021 Masaza Cup.

The Unveiling ceremony which took place Thursday 04th, November 2021 at Mujo Suites, Ssembabule Town was graced by deputy Muteesa Owekitiibwa Suzan Namukwaya.

Mugaasi joins with experience, having been on the technical staff of Gomba from 2015-2019, under coach Ddungu Simon and Ibrahim Kiirya. The previous season, Magaasi was the deputy to Simon Ddungu at Mawogola.

On the same event, it was also confirmed that Magaasi’ backroom staff will be revealed next week as they gear up for the long awaited Buganda’s biggest tournament.

Upon his unveiling, Magaasi had this to say:

“I’m happy to be here. Our fans can testify and remember me very well. We promise to bring happiness and perform better. Last season, we had a few things that went wrong but we hope to fight for the trophy in this Season, he said.”

His first task will be ensuring that the team goes past the Quarter finals, a place where the side finished in the previous Masaza Cup 2020 that was held earlier this year at Njeru.

Mawogola have never won this prestigious tournament but have twice came closer to clinching the title.

Their only best performances in this tournament came in 2004 and 2009 where they lost to Gomba in both finals only to walk away with silver medals.

In the draws that were held this week on Tuesday at Bulange Mengo, Mawogola was dipped in Muganzirwaza group alongside Buddu, Butambala, Busujju and Buwekula.

The said tournament is slated to kick off on 20th this month, with defending Champions Gomba taking on any team in the Masengere group.

As it was in the previous edition of the 2020 Masaza Cup tournament, all players and officials at Njeru will be tested for COVID-19 and matches played behind closed doors in a bid to observe and follow ministry of Health set guidelines.

Masaza Cup 2021 Groups.

*Masengere – Gomba, Kyadondo, Bululi, Ssingo, Kabula
*Muganzirwaza – Buddu, Busujju, Mawogola, Buwekula Butambala
Bulange – Busiro, Bugerere, Kyaggwe, Buvuma, Kyaggwe, Bugerere
*Butikiro – Bulemeezi, Kooki, Mawokota, Ssese

Past Winners

2004 – Gomba
2005 – Mawokota
2006 – Kooki 2-2 Bugerere [4-2 pen]
2007 – Mawokota bt Gomba
2008 – Kyaddondo 2-0 Gomba
2009 – Gomba 1-1 Mawogola [5-4 pen]
2010 – not held
2011- Buluuli 2-1 Bulemeezi
2012 – Bulemeezi 1-0 Buweekula
2013 – Mawokota 1-0 Ssingo
2014 – Gomba 0-0 Ssingo [[4-3 pen]
2015 – Ssingo 5-0 Buddu
2016 – Buddu 1-1 Gomba [6-5 pen]
2017 – Gomba 1-0 Ssingo
2018 – Ssingo 1-1 Buddu [12-11 pen]
2019 – Busiro 0-1 Bulemeezi
2020 – Gomba 3-1 Buddu

Related posts

Silverbacks Set to fly out Tonight After Late Government Intervention

Brian Kawalya

Paralympics: Swimmer Husnah Kukundakwe First In Action In Tokyo

Brian Kawalya

Big League: Kisembo Saves Kitegenyi Penalty As UPDF Edge Kansai


Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

%d bloggers like this: