Wednesday 1st December
Muganzirwaza Group
Match Day One
*Buddu 1-0 Butambala
*Busujju 1-5 Buwekula
Fufa Technical Centre, Njeru

Buddu Ssaza earned a perfect Start into this year’s Masaza Cup tournament after their 1-0 victory against Butambala on Wednesday.

Bruno Bunyaga scored the all important goal in the 70th minute as the 2016 winners earned a hard fought victory to pick maximum points.

The first half saw a closely contested affair as both sides settled in the game but Buddu will feel un lucky for missing on a few created chances.

They could have scored first before the interval but Captain Kavuma Marvin missed twice when infront of goal, with his efforts going just wide before Bruno Bunyaga missed when in one on one situation with Butambala goalkeeper Emran Fahad at the stroke of half time.

Buganda Sports Minister Henry Ssekabembe (left) at Njeru

In the second stanza, Buddu continued with the search for the opener but Butambala proved a hard nut to crack.

Finally with 20 minutes to play, Bunyaga broke the deadlock looping over an on rushing subsistute goalkeeper Henry Mbaabali, thanks to Kavuma Marvin through ball.

However, in the closing stages, Butambala launched various attacks in a search for the equaliser and they will also feel unlucky for missing a couple.

Ismail Rwantala missed with just a tap in off a well delivered cross from pacy winger Sharif Ssengendo before Twaha Toure missed a seater moments later.

There on Buddu held on and defended tirelessly to pick maximum points and get off the mark.

What Next- Both teams return to action tomorrow on Thursday with Butambala up against Mawogola in the first game of the day at noon while Buddu will face Buwekula later in the evening.

Photos courtesy of Masaza media

Players Used

Buddu Ssaza

Michael Lutaaya GK, Steven Muwawu, Gideon Odongo, Abdallah Ssentongo, Edward Namasa, Twaha Ayman, Toure, Ismail Rwantala, Gaganga Geofrey, Bruno Bunyaga, Marvin Kavuma ©, Sharif Ssengendo

Nasif Kabuye, Vianney Bukenya, Jaffer Kaziro, Farouq Sekayi

Head Coach: Steven Bogere

Butambala Ssaza

Emran Fahad GK, Musa Jagwe, Colline Onega, Joseph Ogwang, Shafik Ssali, Julius Kibuuka, Edrine Owachgiu, Julius Bukenya, Faizo Wabyoona, Raymond Lusajje, Brancher Mulamba


Henry Mbaabali, Hussein Mbalangu, Francis Mukasa, Jeremy Matata, John Musinguzi

Head Coach: Emuron Recoba


Leave A Reply