Thursday December 23rd
Masaza Cup Semi Finals

Buwekula 1 (5) -1 (3) Mawokota

Buwekula Ssaza became the first team to reach this year’s Masaza Cup final after eliminating Mawokota 5-3 on Penalties in a semi final game held on Thursday at Njeru.

The game ended 1-1 in normal time and it meant that penalties could be used to separate the two sides.

During the 90 minutes, Lazaro Bwambale had scored for Mawokota while Musiima Isaac ‘Messi’ scored from the spot to level matters for his side.

The opening exchanges saw a closely contested affair as both teams tried to settle into the game on a sunny afternoon.

However, it was Mawokota who scored first at the stroke of half time through Lazaro to put them ahead before the interval.

At the restart of the second stanza, Buwekula started the better side, dominated play and it wasn’t a surprise when they levelled matters in the 56th minute through Musiima, who scored from the spot to take his tally to six goals so far in this year’s tournament.

There on, both sides barely threatened and it meant that Penalties could be used to determine the winner on the day.

On penalties, Buwekula scored all their five spot kicks eliminating Mawokota, to reach their second final since 2012.

Ivan Ssemuju, Benard Alijuna, Michael Abura, Michael Kimera and Musiima Isaac scored for Buwekula.

For Mawokota, Faizo Matovu missed his penalty while Pius Ssebulime, Mike Kintu and Dan Kazibwe scored their respective spot kicks.

Victory ensured that the Frank Mulindwa coached side reached their second ever final, having lost to Bulemeezi in 2012 and they will be targeting their first ever Masaza Cup trophy.

Team Lineups

Kweizera Isaac GK, Raymond Marvin, Micheal Kimera kimmich, Lucky Johnson Kassajja, Isaac Musiima, Shafic Kakande, Benard Alijuna, Ismail Tamubula, Micheal Abura, Emmanuel Yiga, Nassif Kamulegeya


Patrick Mubiru, Walter Alele, Alex Kizito, Ivan Ssemuju, Anthony Kizito

Head Coach: Frank Mulindwa

Abraham Opio GK, Pius Ssebulime, Angello Kizza, Mike Kintu, Arnold Odongo, Faizo Matovu, Saidi Mayanja, Jovan Mawejje, Isaac Ofoyirwoth, Lazaro Bwambale, Tonny Kiberu


Allan Oyirwoth, Joel Opio, Godfrey Ssekibengo, Eric Ssengendo, Dan Kazibwe

Head Coach: Richard Malinga


Leave A Reply