Substitute Ronald Kasamba who came in for Anwar Ntege, netted in late to deny hosts Mbarara City maximum points in a league match at Kakyeka Stadium.

Kasamba’s 83rd minute tap-in cancelled Henry Kitegenyi’s first half minute as Mbarara and Busoga United played out a 1-1 draw.

Kitegenyi directed Swalik Bebe’s inviting cross which caught Busoga United’s defence off guard into the top right corner to give the hosts lead at the break.

The visitors’ only two first half chances came from both Isaac Wagoina and Ntege’s threatening attempts but Martin Elungat was equal to the task on both intervals as came to rescue to keep the hosts in the game.

The Second half saw a different game approach in display, as the hosts tried to plot more attacks which saw Thomas Kakaire’s 55th minute looped header cleared away by Hassan Kintu near the goal line before Delton Oyo pulling out a brilliant save to deny Kitegenyi.

The visitors nearly responded with an equalizer in the 75th minute through Anthony Mayanja’s freekick but Karim Ramathan jumped high to send his effort into a corner kick.

After that Anthony’s attempt, the visitors gained more confidence as they continued to ask questions, and in 83rd minute they had answer to substitute Kasamba’s tap-in equalizer off Anthony’s effort to win vital point for the visitor.

The visitor again had a chance to take maximum points but Edrine Musaka’s shot at the death of the game was magically saved by Elungat.

The result means that the hosts will remain in 12th position with 15 points from 15 games while Busoga United stays in red zone, stuck in 15th position with 11 points but reduced the gap out of relegation to 2 points.

The Ankole lions will pay a visit to kavumba to face Bright Stars when the league resumes next month and Busoga United will welcome URA in their newly approved home grounds of Kakindu Stadium come next month.

Line ups used

Mbarara – Martin Elungat, Jasper Aheebwa, Soulymane Bamba, Hilary Mukundane, Ronald Otti, Thomas Kakaire, Solmon Okwalinga, Jude Ssemugabi, Swalik Bebe, Ivan Otude, Henry Kitegenyi.

Busoga – Delton Oyo (G.K), Kintu Hassan, Kalyowa George, Fredrick Ngalo, Basoga Derrick, Sande Mulanda, Isaac Wagoina, Anthony Mayanja , Mustafa Anwaru Ntege, Edrine Mukisa, Shaka Ssozi.


Leave A Reply