Three Left Out as KCCA Names Final Squad

Uganda premier League side KCCA FC have named a final squad of licensed players for the upcoming 2022/23 UPL season.

The list, that has 29 licensed players consists of three goalkeepers, eight defenders, twelve midfielders and six forwards.

But in the named team, there is no defender Peter Magambo, left back Herbert Achai and midfielder Andrew Kawooya.

It has been confirmed by the club that Magambo has not been licensed for the first round of the 2022/23 season since he is recovering from a knee injury sustained during pre-season that will keep him out for the most part of the first round.

For Achai, the club said that he underwent a knee surgery during pre-season and will be expected back in the second round of the upcoming season while Kawooya will be considered in the second round of the season.

Achai played the best part of last season and was among the top performers for Morley Byekwaso’s side while Magambo was on the sidelines for almost a full season and only returned in the last games of the season.

Kawooya on the other hand spent last season on loan at bombo based club UPDF FC.

Peter Magambo

Returnee and new signing, Allan Okello has been handed shirt number 10.

Okello, who returned to the club on loan takes over his new shirt number from midfielder Yasser Mugerwa, who left the club in the previous window.

The youngster previously donned shirt 25 in his first stint at the Lugogo based Club.

New signing Shaban Muhammad has been given shirt number 11. The forward previously donned shirt number 21 in his first stint at Lugogo.

The other new signing Moses Waiswa Ndhondhi will don shirt 23 which was previously donned by youngster Joseph Bukenya while Julius Poloto is the new no.7, taking over from Gift Ali who left the club recently.

KCCA will open up their new Uganda premier League season with a home game against Wakiso Giants this week on Saturday at the Omondi Stadium in Lugogo.

KCCA FC squad



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *